Nell

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2021 - 01/09/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi!
    I have just finished school and am having a gap year before I start university. I hope to travel in Eastern Europe doing farmstays mostly, but I am also open to any other type of experience.
    I have lived on an organic farm in the countryside all my life so I am used to, and I enjoy, working with animals and being in peaceful, rural areas. I also love hiking and have done several walks in the Alps with my family and hope to do some walking in Europe in between stays and in the warmer months.
    I get on well with children and have volunteered with them before, leading activities etc. so I would like the chance to do more of this or to stay with families with younger children.
    I am hoping to gain lots of new and interesting experiences in a variety of different countries and settings, but mainly I would like to meet new people and have a laugh, while hopefully learning something too :).

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Having lived and helped out on a farm all my life I have picked up practical skills such as driving some tractors, using tools, basic carpentry, painting, etc. I am also comfortable with looking after and moving cows, sheep and most other farm animals and I am happy to do any physical work that might be required.
    I have experience looking after younger cousins and also being a volunteer for Tall Ships Youth Trust during which I lead teams of 12-15 year olds. In a previous stay I spent a lot of time helping with my host's 9 year old son - homeschooling during covid and doing general after school type activities. I really enjoy doing this and spending time with children so I would be happy to help out with childcare if needed.
    I also have experience cooking and cleaning and will be happy to do my share of these as well during my stay.
    On my last workaway stay I have learned basic horseback riding and have become much more comfortable around horses in general. I also did some basic bricklaying, pointing, cement mixing and lots of work in the garden.
    With clear instruction I can generally pick new things up and I would love to learn any new skills that I can.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I will probably be travelling solo for most of my time so I am looking to stay with hosts that I can engage with fully as well as hopefully meeting other workawayers. Staying somewhere with a close local community would be great as well for this reason. I would love to learn about your culture and attempt to learn a language as well, although I may not find that very easy :).

    I would also be very happy to share my own experiences and language and I look forward to meeting you.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback