Tree planting on an organic farm, permaculture garden and tiny house living style in Vendée, France




Favourited 400 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are currently looking for a couple of hands to help us plant some trees for an 'Agroforesterie' project on the farm, starting at the beginning of December for two weeks !

    Hello friends, we are Pierre-Henri and Bea and we have built a beautiful Tiny House on our organic farm.
    We were given the amazing opportunity to take over PH’s parents’ farm and turn it into an organic farm in 2019. PH and his sister officially took over the farm in January 2021. We produce crops for human consumption such as lentils/chickpeas/beans etc. and PH's sister keeps a herd of mohair goats that are just the cutest, fluffiest little animals.

    The farm is situated in beautiful Vendée, close to Lake Jaunay and a 15 minute drive from the beaches, 20 minute drive from Les Sables D' Olonne. If you like nature there is much to do in the region, from mountain biking, surfing, walking in the forest or on the beaches, visiting the salt marshes etc.

    In 2019 we started the construction of our Tiny House and moved in in March 2021. We built it all ourselves and tried our best to construct it according to our values of using as much recycled and local materials as possible, as well as natural materials. It is located beside a lake on the farm in the middle of nature, where we get wonderful views of the sunrise and sunset. We will be happy to share with you our little slice of paradise. The tiny house is surrounded by our family size permacultural vegetable garden that provide us in food and keep us busy all year long :)

    We are a young active couple that loves to be busy. We love being in the outdoors, going for walks, surfing or swimming in the sea. Bea is originally from Ireland, and we love playing music. We have a piano if you like to play. We can lend you a bike to discover the area and we are happy to share our life with you ! We like to eat according to the seasons, and we love to cook together and eat with friends. For us culture exchange is about learning and sharing skills, meeting like minded people and enjoying good moments together.

    We look forward to welcoming you on the farm !

    Bea and PH


    Nous sommes en ce moment a la recherche de quelques mains pour nous aider sur un projet d'agroforesterie sur la ferme, debut decembre pour deux semaines !

    Bonjour les amis! Nous sommes Pierre-Henri et Bea et on a construit une Tiny House sur notre ferme bio. On a eu la chance de prendre l’ancienne ferme des parents de PH et de la mettre en biologique en 2019. PH produit des cultures a consommation humaine comme des lentilles, pois chiche, graines de chia etc., et sa sœur a un troupeau de chèvres angora qui sont très mignonnes.

    La ferme est située en la belle Vendée près du lac du Jaunay et 15 minutes des plages par voiture et 20 minutes des Sables d’Olonne. Si vous aimez la nature il y a beaucoup de choses à faire comme du VTT, du surf et des belles randonnes dans la forêt, le marais ou à la plage.

    En 2019 on a commencé la construction de notre Tiny House et on a déménage en Mars 2021. On a tout construit nous-même. On a essayé notre mieux de la construire en lien avec nos valeurs d' utiliser un maximum de produit locaux et recycle, ainsi que des matériaux naturel. Nous serions heureux de partager avec vous notre petit coin de paradis. C’est situé en plein nature, à côté d’un étang sur la ferme, et on a des magnifique vu sur le levé et couché de soleil. La tiny est entoure par notre jardin en permaculture qui nous nourit et nous occupe toute l'annee :)

    On est un couple jeune et actif. On aime bien être dehors, nager à la mer, faire du surf, des randonnées etc. Bea est d'origine irlandaise et on aime bien la musique, on a un piano si vous avez envie de jouer. On peut vous prêter un vélo pour découvrir les alentours et on est content de partager notre vie avec vous ! On aime bien manger selon les saisons, cuisiner ensemble et faire des repas avec des amis. Pour nous le woofing c’est à propos d'apprendre, de rencontrer des gens qui pensent comme nous et de partager des bons moments ensemble.

    A bientôt sur la ferme. Bea et PH.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about: permaculture, agroforestery, beekeeping, construction; storing produce, pruning/planting trees, gardening, brewing beer, irish/french culture, english/french language

    apprendre a propos de: Permaculture, apiculture, agroforestery, construction, conserver de la nourriture, tailler/planter des arbres, jardinage, apiculture, brasserie, culture irlandaise/francaise, langue francaise/anglaise

  • Help


    2022 Update - Currently just dog sitting

    We spent a year in New Zealand in 2019, where we did a lot of volunteering ourselves and we took part in many inspiring and interesting projects. We are very interested in permaculture and in living more consciously with nature. We have just finished building our Tiny House, but there are many other interesting projects that we would like help with such as :
    - building projects such as wrap around terrace/shed/chicken coop/compost hacienda/greenhouse etc.
    - Maintenance of our bee hives and building new ones
    - Our food forest
    - Storing produce for winter
    - Brewing our own beer
    - Making a pizza oven
    - Planting trees.
    And many other projects depending on the season and your interests and skills !

    Pour le moment on cherche juste quelqu'un pour faire du dogsitting

    Nous avons passé un an à Nouvelle Zélande en 2019, ou on a fait beaucoup de Woofing nous-mêmes et on a vu pleins des projets sympa et inspirant. On est particulièrement intéressé par la permaculture et à vivre plus consciemment avec la nature. On a juste fini de construire notre Tiny House. On a pleins de projets intéressantes comme :
    - la construction
    - l'entretien de notre ruche et de mettre en place des nouvelles ruches
    - un grand potager qui a besoin de beaucoup d'entretien.
    - La foret nourricière
    - conserver les légumes pour l'hiver.
    - brasser notre propre bière
    - construction d’un four de pizza
    - planter des arbres
    et beaucoup d'autre projets selon les saisons et vos intérêts et compétences.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Heated caravan with outside kitchen/ and shower/toilet. This is covered and has all the modern amenities like electricity, hot water etc. We like to eat seasonal food, mostly vegetarian.

    Caravan chauffée avec cuisine/toilet/douche exterieur. Il y a d'electricité, eau chaude etc.
    On mange selon les saisons un diet plutôt végétarien.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visit: Lac du jaunay, les sables d'olonne, st gille croix de vie, puy de fou, la roche sur yon, salt marshes, the seaside and the beaches.
    To do: cycling, surfing; swimming, walking, fishing.
    You can borrow a bicycle or a car.

    Visiter: Lac du jaunay, les sables d'olonne, st gilles croix de vie, puy du fou, la roche sur yon, marais salants, la cote, les plages.
    Faire: vélo, surf, nager, pécher, randonnée...

    Vélo/voiture a disposition.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Host ref number: 272491281559