Volunteer and help in the Azores, Portugal



Favourited 569 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a little familial project: guesthouse, big experimental garden and arts.
    At the south east of Sao Miguel island in a small isolated village between ocean and mountains: it's a special place for a special life!

    If you are really interested about farming, plants and a simple life close to nature, you are welcome to try working with us. We work a lot and are looking for people able to give good and strong energy with concentration and observing.

    Who are we
    Géraldine (35) take care of the guests, manage the house and the garden. Do the jams and much more!
    Greg (39) Géraldine's partner is an artist and help me when he can, he don't live always here.
    Sometime Anne (Géraldine's mother) vegetal paper maker help us in the garden but she live at Ponta Delgada now.

    We live in large, old and typical house which was before a grocery. Anne transform it in a guesthouse and we welcome since 8 years: guests, groups and voluunters.

    We host guests all the year but high season is between may and september. It's a place sometimes
    full of people and other time very quiet and calm.

    We have 2 gardens: one small pleasure garden in the backside of the house and one big garden-orchard (5000m2) which is at 5 minutes by foot from the house.

    We cultivate a large variety of fruit trees like guavas, bananas, anonas, papayas, mangos, advocados but especially a lot of citrus like diferents varieties of orange, lemon, tangerine...Fruits are eaten at home, sold or given but are mainly transformed as jams intending for sale. The fruit season begin in october and finish in may (because tropical fruits). We cultivate also vegetables for our own consommation.

    It is not a classic and ordered garden, so newcomers are often confused by the big quantity of plants (it is also an ornamental garden with flowers, endemics and more) and the size of the garden. But also because it's mostly subtropical and tropical plants not commoms in temperate climate.
    We work as biological farming and we are inspired by permaculture and biodynamie.

    The garden is on a hill so in large part with slop and terraces. It is important to note that we work by hand without big machines and that is important to be fit.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help


    We receive a large number of messages and demands and our time is limited so we will respond to your message only if you give these informations:
    what is your experience or knowledge in gardening or farming
    what are your other experiences or knowledge
    how long you want to stay
    which period or date
    what are your experiences of voluuntering

    The base is 5 hours per day 5 days a week but we ask also an active participation and initiatives in collective life (cooking, do the dishes, cleaning).
    We need help mostly in the garden. Cleaning and preparing land and little spaces, care to the trees, compost, mulch, organic preparation...It can be often repetitive and hard but it can be also enriching and we try to variate the tasks. If you have specific knowledge we are always happy to learn and share but if you are a beginneryou have to learn the basics and it is not always easy.

    Other helps requested:
    The rainy days we work at home: painting rooms, cleaning, restoring, DIY...
    On summer help for cleaning the house and preparing rooms
    Help to cook for the groups or guests

    Helps that we need occasionally:
    website creation
    woodworkers to build hut, greenhouse...
    yoga, stretching and other physical teacher to give class in the village

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private room in the house: october to end of april.
    During the high season you have to camp in the big garden: we provide tent, outside kitchen, basic shower, dry toilet.
    We provide all the meals and we eat most of the time together. We are not selfsuficient all the year but depending the season we eat vegetables and fruits from the garden. We are almost vegetarian and eat very rarely fish and meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We give priority to the people who have a real motivation for agriculture.

    Don´t forget to bring gloves, shoes for the garden and raincoat.

    There is wi fi at home but there is also a place with computers close to the house and the wi fi at the bar.

    Activities at Faial: hiking, fishing, swimming (depending the season), snorkelling but not surfing (it is on the north coast) and just be quiet and enjoy nature! You have buses from monday to friday, you can go easily to Povoãçao, Furnas (hot thermal water), Vila Franca and Ponta Delgada. For other places you have to hitchhike or take a taxi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 524428494771