Help with training horses on little family farm off-grid in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a nature loving couple (49 & 51, Canadian & Swiss) living close to McLeese Lake BC off-grid on 72 ha of beautiful land with creeks, lakes, forest, hills and pastures, surrounded by crown land and no neighbours for 5 km. With us live 8 dogs, 15 chickens, 6 cats and 13 horses. We have a big garden for our veggies, produce our own hay, teach riding lessons and train other people's horses (mostly away from home), but also have to go work 2-3 days per week away from home. Our farm is not producing in a large scale and we don't sell veggies or eggs on the market, what we harvest goes into our stomachs. My riding students are located mainly in Quesnel where I drive to for giving lessons once a week.

    I need some help on the farm for training and riding our (young) horses and taking care of the animals on days we both have to go work. There will be the occasional helping in the garden, like watering or harvesting and processing. Walks with the dogs and brushing them is also a task for you, especially if we are away all day.

    I'm looking for someone with (very) good riding skills, who likes horses and dogs and is responsible and reliable.

    We offer in exchange for about 4-5 h of work per day: a trailer to live in (sleeps max. 5 people), vegetarian food, riding and riding lessons, the life experience of living off-grid and with basic comfort in harmony with nature.

    English is a must, but I speak also German and French. Having your own car is an advantage, as there is zero public transport around here. I do regular weekly trips to Williams Lake or Quesnel and will take you with me for shopping, going to teach riders, riding clinics and other horse events etc. if there is interest or need to go shopping for yourself. You can also participate in riding clinics I teach if there is enough openings.

    We can not pay a wage, but you will be well fed, have your own trailer, can ride as much as you want and if you wish you can take riding and other horse-working lessons with me. There is enough room to bring friends or family, your dog or horse can come with you too, but we can't feed everybody for free.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will enjoy a simple, back to nature lifestyle, surrounded by animals (domestic and wild), lakes and plants, away from civilization, crowds, noise, traffic. We have internet, but no TV and no radio. Meals are homemade, vegetarian and seasonal. You can improve your riding and learn how to diversely train a horse. You will speak English.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Riding & training horses, walking dogs, cleaning & feeding chickens and cats, helping in the garden.
    Riding: English style, classical dressage, jumping, eventing, trail rides.
    Horse training: groundwork, lunging, dressage in hand, riding. I start horses together with well trained horses on the trail. You don't need to be a pro, but interested in learning how to work these different things.
    Dogs: they love long walks on the surrounding trails, but also enjoy being brushed and laying in the sun.
    Cats: happy with food and some cuddling.
    Chickens: we clean their coop daily, spread some seeds and treats and collect the eggs.
    Garden: watering, planting/harvesting, every now and then weeding, preserving.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Meine Muttersprache ist Berndeutsch (Schweizerdeutscher Dialekt, von vielen als der Schönste Dialekt betitelt), Hochdeutsch ist unsere geschriebene Sprache, welche wir von Klein auf lernen. Französisch lernte ich in der Schule und rede mit Freunden und bei der Arbeit Französisch. Meine Grossmutter war Italienerin und sprach mit uns Italienisch, so dass ich mich halbwegs verständlich machen und unterhalten kann.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Trailer: our travel trailer is stationary about 80 m from our cabin. It doesn't offer running water (camping container for water available) and has a limited amount of power, but can be heated with propane. Batteries can be charged with the generator. Shower is in our cabin, outhouse next to the cabin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I will pick you up in Williams Lake BC or Quesnel BC. There is no public transport out here.
    Things to do around here: swim in lakes, go for hikes, run, bike, take pictures, cut trees,...
    Places to visit: Barkerville, Williams Lake Stampede, Quesnel Rodeo, Billy Barker Days in Quesnel, Begby Summit, Mahood waterfall, parks and lakes...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wir sind via Starlink (Elon Musk's Internetdienst) mit der Welt verbunden. In der Regel haben wir sehr gute Verbindung mit Upload/Download von ca. 10/90 Mbps.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Wir haben keinen designierten Platz. Camper kann nach Belieben auf dem Grundstück aufgestellt werden. Es gibt keinen Stromanschluss und Abwasser muss auch in einem dafür geeigneten Ort ausserhalb der Farm entleert werden.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Brave, verträgliche Hunde, die keine Tiere (Haus- und Wildtiere) jagen, nicht an alles pinkeln und nichts stehlen. Pferd kann auch mit.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day


Host ref number: 499829836997