Help us on our small-scale organic farm in the Apennine mountains near Parma, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 276 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    111

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two young people (26 and 36 years old) and we have started a small-scale organic dairy farm in the Appenine mountains near Parma, Italy. We have 5 cows and 20 goats, and we transform all the milk produced in our on-site dairy. We also have a flock of 30 laying chickens.
    Our home is in the beautiful Val di Taro, at the foot of Monte Pelpi, and our farmhouse has a spectacular panoramic view across the whole valley. We are at 850 metres above sea level and about 5 km away from the nearest town, Bedonia.
    Farming and cheese-making is very time-consuming, so we are looking for somebody who is willing to help out on the farm.

    As per workaway guidelines: we are not a business and ours is not a business activity.

    -

    Siamo una coppia di giovani (24 e 34 anni), abbiamo appena iniziato una nostra azienda agricola biologica sugli appennini parmensi. Abbiamo 3 vacche e 13 capre, trasformiamo il latte nel nostro caseificio e vendiamo lo yogurt e il formaggio nei mercati che ci sono nei paesi vicini. Abbiamo anche 30 galline da uova. Marco (34) è Italiano, Cassie (24) è Inglese.
    Il nostro lavoro ci porta via tantissimo tempo, quindi cerchiamo qualcuno che ci può dare una mano sopratutto nelle attività agricole.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had experience over the past 5 years hosting volunteers on the various farms we have worked at. We also have a least one volunteer living with us during the warmer months of the year. We try our best to make people who stay with us feel like part of the family, and the social and cultural aspect of volunteering is very important to us. For this reason we ask for people who are interested in integrating with our lifestyle and getting to know us. We are vegetarian but respect the right of volunteers to eat meat if they wish to.

    We are both fluent in Italian and English and are happy to help in any way with can with people who want to learn either of these languages.

  • Help

    Help

    Agricultural tasks: Milking (goats by hand, cows by machine), feeding animals, hay-making, helping in the vegetable garden, maintanence of woodland and fields.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom in our farmhouse, with the possibility of a private bathroom.

    -

    Una camera privata nel nostro podere, con la possibilità di un bagno privato.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near the town of Bedonia, a short distance from Borgo val di Taro. We are conveniently located on the border between Emilia Romagna, Tuscany and Liguria. This means that popular tourist destinations such as La Spezia, Bologna, and all the main Tuscan cities are a short train journey away. We live in a very beautiful and tranquil valley, which is perfect for anyone who loves to live in a natural setting and enjoys mountain scenery. We are also near Chiavari, a popular seaside destination for tourists.

    We prefer people to stay for a minimum of 2 months. Please contact us if you have any other questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A nearby river where we go swimming in the summer. It is deep enough to dive off the rock you see in the photo!
Lunch outside with the volunteers!
We don't normally ride our cow Lola, but she doesn't mind when we do...












Host ref number: 521851528216