Help me with a development project, and countryside villa maintenance on the scenic Greek island of Crete and live a Greek cultural experience!

Country

Greece

Favourited 194 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello I am Eugenia and have recently repatriated(after 41 years abroad)back to Greece where I have a villa with 3 studios which I am trying to renovate in order to develop a project on sustainable eco tourism. I need people who have had experience and preferably skilled in house maintenance and renovation, gardening and horticulture development, outdoor areas development, have initiative and are independent in their tasks.

    I live in Crete, Greece and my villa is immersed in olive trees on a hill top with beautiful views and quite a bit of land around which needs development and taken care of. This is an ideal place for nature lovers, it is very peaceful and far away from mass tourism but not far from the sea. It is in a small village 20 km outside the city of Chania on the north west coast of the island.

    The inhabitants of the village are very friendly and will sell their home produce, such as honey, eggs, goat cheese etc to any guests who might be interested. My huge terrace has been used by yoga e Tai-chi lovers and have been told that there is a lot of positive energy on this land!

    I am offering free accommodation (possibility to stay at independent fully furnished studio, if free, attached to the villa, otherwise a room in main inhabited house) as well as food(only during the working days) in exchange for any house maintenance work (decorating, plumbing, small electrical jobs, tiling, woodwork/carpentry, gardening). Ideally skilled helpers needed , or people who have previous experience in these areas.

    I can speak four languages(Greek, English, Italian and French). I would love to also offer in exchange for work, Greek cookery classes and/or Greek language lessons.
    I have two daughters and 3 dogs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer Greek language and culture lessons, Greek cuisine lessons, but I will also cook Greek food. I will direct hosts to local festivals with Greek music and dancing, or any other culture events being on offer during the time of the year they are here. There are wineries and olive oil producers tasting experiences. A local honey producer also organises educational tours/events for visitors from other countries. We can visit local vegetable markets.

  • Help

    Help

    Decorating, plumbing, small electrical jobs, woodwork/carpentry, gardening, landscaping, digital marketing

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, French, Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In one of the studios(open space) will accommodate 2-3 people or a bedroom in the main house with separate bathroom.

    On workdays meals will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty of countryside all round to go for hiking, the beach for swimming, or catch the bus into town for historical visits. These are only some examples ,but the opportunities are many!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 337313543648