Help us out with our homestead and regenerative farm in Ginestar, Spain



Favourited 286 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We're a family of four (and two occasional grandparents) living in a yurt on an 8 acre piece of land in Catalonia. Our aim is to establish a self-sufficient homestead while farming almonds and olives using regenerative and permaculture practices. We're interested in growing food for ourselves and others whilst building soil and healing the land. We're trying to live as simply as we can and unlearn some of our 'civilised' habits.

    We're a sociable bunch and enjoy conversation, good food/drink and musical happenings.

    Before we came to settle here a couple of years ago we 'unschooled' our boys and spent a year driving around the Mediterranean in a big Hymer motorhome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're happy to share all our learning up to date on permaculture and regenerative agriculture practices as well as any other knowledge we've gained by travelling and living in the Catalunyan countryside. Helpers will get a feel for 'life on the land' and how regenerative agriculture and permaculture can be part of the solution for a changing climate. Our children speak Catalan and the adults get by with cobbled together Spanish and Catalan. We enjoy discussions, communal meals and occasional music-making.

    This area of Catalonia offers much for lovers of the outdoors and our immediate surroundings are rural and very beautiful. There are opportunities for walking, cycling and kayaking amongst other things and there is lots of wildlife to enjoy. The river Ebro is famous for fishing.

    The major cities of Reus, Tarragona, Tortosa and Barcelona are close enough to visit. There are beaches half an hour's drive away but these can be difficult to access without independent transport.

    Our farm has panoramic mountain views and is in a quiet undisturbed spot, making it the perfect place to focus on painting, writing and yoga or any other pursuit that requires a certain amount of peace and beauty!

  • Help


    We like all kinds of helpers and we need all kinds of different help! From moving sheep fencing to dog walking, shovelling manure to dry stone wall repair and everything in between.

    We have vegetable gardens, young fruit trees, olive trees, almond trees, a rental cottage/casita, 4 sheep, 6 chickens, 1 dog and two sons. All of this demands our time and attention and we appreciate help with all of it, although tasks do change throughout the seasons.

    The work is generally physical and we also like to have people who can cook and teach us new things.

    From the spring of 2019 we're hoping to improve our infrastructure and work on building new compost toilets, shower spaces and hopefully an outdoor bath! We've found that we've really enjoyed having volunteers come and be part of our homestead and farm and we'd love to expand our facilities to better accomodate all visitors that pass through our land.

    To that end, we'd really appreciate volunteers with building experience and practical know-how. We'd like to experiment with having people perhaps stay for longer periods of time, really help us see projects through and witness the changes on the land, fully be a part of the life of this little homestead of ours. The most important qualities for us though are a good attitude, enthusiasm, willingness to get stuck-in, sense of humour, a love of outdoor living and a real willingness to be the change that our beleaguered planet needs.

    *️We're currently wanting to book volunteers from the second half of August to help with the almond harvest. It's pretty hot at this time, but there is a pool in the village so when work stops we like to go and hang out in the shade at the pool...It's not for the faint-hearted though! There is always lots of other work too at that time, seed sowing and bed prepping being just a couple of the seasonal tasks at that time*️

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a tiny amount of Spanish/Catalan

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation during the spring, summer and autumn months is under canvas. We have various tents of varying sizes so an usually accomodate most travelling permutations. For those camping in spring through to autumn, it should be noted that our toilet and washing facilities are fairly rudimentary but perfectly adequate. We have internet but other than that, life is pretty primitive here :)

    We're also considering taking longer-term volunteers over the winter months of December, January and February to be accommodated in our little stone casita. This can get very cold although there is a log burner. If anyone is interested in helping out at that time and staying in the casita - please message and we can talk further.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to do within a couple of hour's drive! From the Ebro Delta, to the bustle of Barcelona, this region is full of potential. Our nearest village has a couple of basic shops and several bars and is a couple of kilometres away. Our nearest towns, Mora d'ebre and Mora la nova are approximately 20 mins away as is our nearest railway station. There are two buses a day through the village to the town. You can reach a number of beaches within 30 mins by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 568678116559