Help a youngish couple on their rural life-style property, high up in the hills of west Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Guten tag, salut, ni hao, namaste, hello,

    General information:


    We recently moved into our new rural property in the hills of Auckland. To live out our kiwi dream of owning a lifestyle block of 10 acres we need your help.

    Maheesha and Garrick love hiking, traveling, eating and meeting people from different parts of the world. Toddler Rohan enjoys being a toddler and doing nothing productive.

    If you need a place to stay on the edge of Auckland high up in the hills with stunning views and can help with their house and garden, they would love to hear from you.

    We want to extend the garden, landscape and build fences for Alpacas and Sheep. (we currently do not have any animals, and we are not a farm)

    Double bed only

    Vegetarian meals will be provided.

    Unlimited free Wifi and Netflix

    Airport pickup may be arranged - timing dependent

    Cooking is shared

    We live near to Swanson train station (not walkable) linked to Britomart & 30 mins by car from the city. - We can pick you up from the train station and drop you off when you want to go exploring.

    Local highlights: Scenic Bethells surf beach, Mokoroa Falls & many hiking tracks through the Waitakere rangers (car required - or we can provide transport within reason)


    GENERAL INFORMATION:

    If you need a place to stay on the edge of Auckland high up in the hills with stunning views and can help with their house and garden, they would love to hear from you.


    Their location

    By train - 1 hour from the city to Swanson Train station where we pick you up - 5 Min drive to our house

    High in the hills overlooking Auckland and the rangers.

    We live near Swanson train station. Trains depart from Britomart to Swanson every hour. Check the Auckland Transport website for more: or ask us.

    By car - 35 mins from the city
    - 45 mins to Airport

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Garrick is a born and raided Kiwi, Maheesha is originally from Sri Lanka and London. We live on a 10 acres of native bush with several small fields which we are preparing for sheep and alpacas.

    Being high in the hills we offer amazing views and a huge variety of native bird life which can be seen throughout the day from the house and deck.

    We have a 5 year work/stay history on another hosting platform.

    You will particularly enjoy being near:

    - iconic New Zealand beaches

    - hundreds of hiking tracks through the Waitakere Ranges

    - Five minute drive to Swanson train station

    - Auckland city (35 mins drive or 1 hour by train)

    - Auckland Airport (45 mins drive).

    - Rural Location, but 15 min drive to WestGate shopping centre (or 20 min train to WestCity shopping centre)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who have a strong work ethic, who take the initiative, and can clean up after themselves.

    We offer a work hard, play hard experience. If physical work is not something you enjoy, or you can't work in the sun, then our place may not be for you.

    We need help with:

    - general gardening

    - Landscaping

    - Drain digging and drain laying

    -Weed eating . weed wacking /strimmer

    -Child care if you like it - 2 year old boy

    -Building retaining wall

    -House hold chores on rainy days (don't worry we have a cleaner already)

    - DIY tasks around the property

    - Fence building

    - Fence painting

    - Chopping firewood

    - cooking meals. Maheesha does not eat meat but loves chocolate. Garrick eats everything and loves BBQs.

    Volunteering times can be flexible. However, if you prefer to help one full day and take the next day off, that's fine.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a nice large room in the family house with a double bed.

    The house is open and free for you to use at your leisure for TV, cooking, hanging out etc.

    Unlimited free wifi and netflix

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you do not have a car we can arrange pick up from wither the airport or local train station.

    We can also drop you off an pick you up from the local train station for your daily activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day or day on, day off





Host ref number: 513849288124

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more