Experience off-grid family life and help with DIY and eco projects in Lower Kaimai, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We (a well traveled couple from New Zealand and Austria, our 8-year old twins part time, 1 hyper active, friendly GSPxVizsla puppy and 7 happy chicken) live on our rural, off-grid property in the Lower Kaimais in the Bay of Plenty. The property is located about 20mins from Tauranga, 30mins from Matamata and about 1 hour from Hamilton. It encompasses 50 acres of native bush, scrub and pasture. There are private swimming holes, waterfalls, freshwater springs and more than 5kms of tracks through our private valleys and streams. There is also regenerating scrub and a native Tawa/Rimu forest.

    We are living plant based (with eggs from our chicken), don't do alcohol or other drugs and want to keep the property free of intoxicants.

    We are already looking forward to meeting you all!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll definitely experience how it is to live off the grid and we're happy to share all our learnings with you. We are also looking forward to provide cultural knowledge (esp. te ao Maori), share Aotearoa New Zealand history, etc. As we are both well traveled, there is never a lack of stories to share.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for helpers for our gardens, to build cob structures, develop natural building systems, off grid facilities, hydro-schemes, ... there is an abundance of opportunities to learn and experience living in and with nature.

    Tasks will be about 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon - depending on the project. If you stay longer than a week, we provide 3 meals a day 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You can park up your own vehicle or pitch a tent in summer. We provide 2 tents (for max. 4 people), mattresses, pillows and blankets and / or sleeping bags if necessary.
    We have starlink internet, water and run on solar-power at the moment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Lower Kaimais are known for great hikes, and we are happy to give recommendations and share our knowledge about the area as well as New Zealand itself. We are also keen on telling stories about te ao Maori, Aotearoa's history and also travel stories. We are always open for new adventures and will show you around as well, if you're interested.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have several spots for you to park up you van/housebus etc.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a young dog ourselves, and if yours is good with other dogs, we're happy to accommodate the pup. Sorry, we cannot allow cats on our property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 398811868923

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Lifestyle and organic garden! - Raglan, New Zealand
Help with a non-profit forest school regenerating land near Pukaha wildlife center, New Zealand