Experience life on a small farm following agroecological principles in the City of Vancouver, Canada



Favourited 695 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    .....UPDATES.... Due to the Pandemic the community aspect of the farm has suffered greatly. Its still bustling and people are here 7 days a week but the atmosphere here can be lonely at times. You have to be a self starter / confident and use initiative to start on jobs without being asked! Farm school is now a huge aspect to the farm and runs Mon to Thurs every week. 28 children are enrolled, and so if you arn't comfortable / happy around children don't apply! Ive updated the accommodation details. We take COVID very seriously, but are willing to open our bubble to the right person(s) that behave safely and follow guidelines submitted by Dr Bonnie.


    My name is Liam and I've been here as a Work-Away since 2019 November, an opportunity came up to be part of the team during my stay and I didnt think twice, so i'm now here for the foreseeable future! Part of my responsibility is to coordinate you and make sure you have a fun, safe time whilst you are here. I'm in charge of managing the volunteers and generally if anything needs looking at on the farm im on it! exciting stuff :) you will have lots of free time to explore and I cant express how welcoming people are here.

    We are a small farm within the City of Vancouver that works towards growing quality food following agroecological principles; to provide sustainable farm and food education through empowering people of all ages with traditional skills and knowledge; and to protect and preserve the Agriculture Land Reserve (ALR) within BC by advocating for and supporting other local farmers and food producers. We are on a 2 acre farm that has horses, goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, and bees - an orchard, and two large gardens to grow food. We host a non-profit therapeutic riding program, horseback riding school, and an educational, working farm. Thus is an inclusive farm and welcomes all.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - learn about life on the last working farm in the city of Vancouver
    - share and exchange language, food, music and culture with people from all over the world
    - be a part of an inclusive community where everyone is seen as capable, strong, and skilled individuals
    - live in an equestrian community inside of the city where you typically pass by more horses on the street than cars!
    - become part of the farm community, from daily coffee time to potlucks and bonfires

  • Help


    ***You must be comfortable with heavy lifting (hay bales, waterbuckets, wheelbarrows etc), mud and farm tasks***.

    Our animals take priority and it is essential that you are comfortable with daily tasks that ensure they are cared for morning and/or evening.

    Typical tasks will include:
    - animal care/husbandry (goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, horses)
    - growing food, gardening, weeding, and harvesting
    - help to maintain the property and living quarters
    - being a farm representative, engaging with clients and the general public
    - being a part of an inclusive environment: fostering respect and welcoming diversity
    - building, carpentry, repair and maintenance of facilities
    - having a 'can-do' attitude for many tasks that can come up on a day-to-day basis; every day is different!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Unfortunately due to COVID we have limited availability with accommodation.

    1) Lunas Shack - Small studio apartment, attached to the owners property. Suitable for couples.
    2) Trailer - A small single room in a trailer on the property.

    1) The room is en-suite with Shower/toilet/Microwave/Toaster oven/Fridge/Freezer/Heating. Its very cosy and private.

    Other facilities on the property include:

    Free Wifi property wide
    A shared shower room up in the hayloft - Some basic shared toiletries are available.
    Toilets / WC on ground floor.
    Shared kitchen and cooking facilities (stove, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, toaster, oven)
    Common area for eating etc.
    No TV or no computers available
    Outdoor cooking oven and eating area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - 30 minutes by bus, and 15 minutes by car to Downtown Vancouver
    - close bike or bus ride to University of British Columbia
    - 800m walk to the Fraser River and trails
    - public transit access to the North Shore mountains, hiking and ski resorts
    - Walking distance to bus stops that connect to trains to YVR airport, the suburbs and downtown vancouver. Farm is located close to UBC and Pacific spirit park.

    Be prepared to prepare your own meals as they will not be provided. We have some basic ingredients available. Food delivery is available using food delivery Apps.
    It is recommended to bring some groceries with you for the first few days. We occasionally may be able to take you to the local grocery store once a week for the heavier and any bulk items.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 513222114675