Discover English language and customs and help around our family home in Aylesham, Kent in England.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our early 50s that share our home with our three dogs. I work full-time as a nurse and my husband work from home running our embroidery and dog collar business. We enjoy walks with dogs, music, socialising and photography. We have a spacious home and a comfortable garden. We enjoy cooking and trying new cuisines from around the world. We live 5 miles from Canterbury city centre which has good public transport links. We live in a village that is in the countryside with lots of lovely walks across fields and woods.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a historic and beautiful area of Kent. We can spend time showing people the area and sightseeing. We would be happy to help with English language and customs, photography, machine embroidery and companionship.

  • Help

    Help

    We would appreciate help with general household work such as cleaning, cooking and gardening. Nothing complicated, just everyday things. It would help to ease the pressure on my husband so he can work without having to stop for chores.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 4 bedroomed detached house with a medium sized garden with patio seating area. We have a large kitchen and utility room with separate living room. Our guests would have a small bedroom with a very comfortable king size bed, tv and drawers. We have a separate dining room available for study or reading. Our guest would be able to have meals with us or take them at different times if needs dictate. We are flexible with meal times and usually eat a main meal in the evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being so close to Canterbury there is much to see in the historic City. We are also close to the coast with many beaches yet in the heart of the countryside with fabulous walks. We are close to Dover and Folkestone for easy access to train and ferry terminals to visit France. We have some nice villages surrounding us with great pubs which include regular live music also. The county town of Maidstone is within a reasonable distance to visit. We are also about an hour's train journey away from London. There are many things to see and do in the area including Port Lympne and Howletts animal parks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 512478967796