Enjoy the serenity of our private mountain top home and garden near Yosemite National Park. USA


United States


Favourited 664 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a non smoking middle aged couple who recently purchased our 9 acre property near beautiful Yosemite National Park. My husband is a retired heavy equipment operator who thoroughly enjoys building and creating around our 'little piece of paradise' and we are more than happy to share it with you. You will enjoy plenty of opportunities to explore Yosemite and our quaint historic town loaded with Gold Rush nostalgia during your 'off' times.

    We are now approaching the summer months and have very specific projects with specific skills required. We are in immediate need (prefer a couple) with basic landscape and gardening knowledge and someone who is no stranger to hard laborious work as we have a 4200 square foot organic garden we are in the process of fencing; digging post holes, installing fence and two gates on each side.

    We need someone who can weed-eat on the property, cut and stack firewood, shovel and rake dirt, remove and stack rocks, build some rock walls and help get gardens ready for planting. We also need help digging holes and planting some fruit trees. We also enjoy sharing dinners, conversations, laughs and a desire for someone who has a passion for cooking delicious organic and healthy vegan meals.

    This past summer we set out to grow all of our own food (although not as successful as we had hoped) as we live a Whole Foods Plant Based No Oil (WFPBNO) lifestyle and could really use someone with a strong back and who has knowledge in outdoor growing, however, it is not required. Planting season is rapidly approaching and we are in the process of starting seeds for our garden and could use some help.

    We also have plenty of tasks on the property that we need help with as well. We are looking for an energetic person or couple who is interested in helping outdoors and enjoying the serenity in their 'downtime' that our property has to offer.

    We have so many ideas. We have plenty of tasks outside on our acreage loaded with landscaping projects we are currently working on which include shoveling, staining, painting, moving dirt, rocks and pulling weeds etc etc.

    If you have a specific talent or area of expertise that our farm cannot live without, please feel free to share with us what your unique skill is and what exactly you can bring to our 'little piece of paradise'.

    We also would love to have someone who is mechanically inclined that can help repair a lawn tractor, air compressor and an older ATV.

    We look forward to chatting with you soon!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our property is located in the midst of a historic district which boomed during the California Gold Rush. Our small town is rich in history and nostalgia; leaving you wanting more. One of the best attractions, gathering millions from around the world, is the beauty of Yosemite National Park less than 40 miles away. Over the years, we have hosted many people from 37 different countries and thoroughly enjoy learning about different cultures. We absolutely love it when our guests have a passion for eating healthy and can share some of their favorite recipes from around the world as well as anything that is special to them.

  • Help


    This is the ideal opportunity for a couple who love the outdoors as we are located just outside Yosemite National Park. It is on a mountain top property with acreage surrounding with breath-taking sunrises and sunsets daily. The Mountain Top Oasis is our 'little piece of paradise' that we are more than happy to share and thoroughly enjoy meeting new people from all 'walks of life'. We prefer a mature couple who is completely self managed and motivated. We are very old school and believe one should strive for what they expect; hence they shall receive. Versatility and self supervision is a MUST! Your tasks might include but are NOT limited to gardening, moving rocks, weed-eating, raking, shoveling, nailing, painting, staining, mowing, cleanup and anything else that comes with keeping up on the surrounding acreage. Most help will be outside and perhaps some inside help on occasion with clean up or maintenance. We look forward to chatting with you soon.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We offer a comfortable 25 ft trailer (newly remodeled; pictures do not reflect the remodel) with pop out with the most comfortable TempurPedic Queen size bed; includes full kitchen in your private space with views to the sunrise every morning; includes a small television with satellite and free wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask that each Workawayer be available to help 5 days per week and 5 hours per day; although we are extremely flexible should you want to help more hours in a day and less days overall. We want this experience to be enjoyable for all involved. Spring time is a busy time of year in order to get everything ready for the summer months. Late fall is also a busy time as we are in the process of winterizing everything before the heavy rains hit. You are free to explore Yosemite and it's serenity or anywhere else you might like to go during your time off. We are more than happy to share the our favorites from a 'local's perspective'.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 378836352547