Help with eco-farming and enjoy nature in Elduain, Basque Country

Country

Spain

updated   Last minute

Favourited 355 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    16

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family (couple and two children born in 2002 and 2005) from Elduain, Basque Country, who live in a restored farmhouse of about 500 years old (we are ocupying half house). In 2013 we expanded the family vegetable garden and started with the small scale production of ecological vegetables (bio/eco/org) that we sell in a kind of Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) group, in the market of Tolosa every saturday and also to a dining room of a school sensitized with local commerce and healthy eating. We also have hens, chickens (not all the year around), 2 cows (most of the time they're in the meadows) and a dog.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Besides biofarming experience exchanging, you can participate in the weekly distribution of vegetables on Tuesdays and the weekly market on Saturdays. We also can exchange knowledge about biology/nature/ecology as I studied the career of biology/ecology.
    You would listen and lern, why not, one of the oldest language of Europe, the Basque language, which is our everyday language. Any way, we also speak Spanish and some English as well.
    We also would share our knowledge about Basque culture, if you are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to share or exchange our experience and knowledge with people willing to collaborate in the daily labours of a ecological farm (bio/eco/org) with a variety of tasks: preparing the ground for seeding or planting, harvesting vegetables, meadow maintenance, geting firewood, construction...
    We usually ask to help 4 hours in the morning and 1-2 after lunch, but afternoon timing could be adapted if it's necesary; weekends are time off (we consider it's interesting to come to the market on Saturdays but it's optional). Sometimes some work may be conditioned by the weather, so you may have to help on some weekends instead of week days.
    Don't worry if you never had work in a farm, you will be wellcome if you are working people.
    Based in our experience we ask you to contact us only if you are really interested, to properly manage the requests and also because it isn't a tourism accommodation where you can make/cancel reservations nor a cheap holiday place. We also appreciate to respond to all messages, even to say "No thank you, I'm not interested".

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Basque, Spanish, basic English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer food and accommodation. You would have a private room (2 beds) in our house, bathroom shared with family and family meals. Some times we ask solo workawayers to share the room with another workawayer (always under agreement of eveybody).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Elduain is in an coutryside but you can reach here by public transport from Tolosa
    In your time off you can visit the Atlantic Basque seaside, go to the beach (sunbathing, seabathing, surfing...); Donostia city is easy to get by bus or by train. You also can make many excursion in the area (easier by your own transport), plenty of beautiful villages, practice mountaineering, biking...
    You can get to Basque Country by plane (Loiu or Donostia airport) or by train and/or bus (from Madrid, Barcelona, Paris,...). You have bus or train services from Bilbao or Donostia to Tolosa (the main city in our area) and buses from Tolosa to Elduain.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week, almost 5 hours a day

Having lunch outside; the "children" are now 17 and 14.
A visite from the school where we serve vegetables
Vegetables for each family of the CSA in the 2nd week of november
View of Elduain city and our farm in the right-middel edge.
Partial view of the garden and the farm.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)






















Host ref number: 498546136192