Join our family life in Fillinges, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a three headed family (Britta, Sophia, Dana) - one Mom and two daughters of 14 and 16. We have had au pairs every year so far, and the two girls are growing out of the age of having an au pair. However I am a single mom and thus the only adult person in the family with a drivers licence. Daily life is complicated without help, in particular in a typical French village with no bus connection. We work and go to school in Geneva and since schedules don't always match, assistance is helpful. Sophia is attending art school in Geneva to become a graphic designer and Dana will attend bilingual high-school in Geneva from September on.

    We are currently all set until Christmas. Don't hesitate to contact us anyways if you are interested, in case plans change.

    We are used to living with a person from abroad and we have always enjoyed the exchange with the additional family member very much. My daughters speak German, English and French. I am of German origin, we live in France and I work as an English teacher in Geneva. The region here is very international and both of my daughters are preparing for a stay abroad for a student exchange. So international atmosphere and the coming and going is something we cherish.
    We are mostly busy with work and school during the week and enjoy the mountains, the lakes and being with friends during the weekend.
    We also enjoy dancing. I dance Argentine Tango and we sometimes organise meetings to dance in the living room. I could also teach you the basics and as a trained linguist I can of course help you with language learning

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had someone live with us for more than 12 years with frequent changes involved. So we are very easy going, curious and open minded. We will have dinner together on workdays and you can join our hikes, excursions to cities or lakes, ski days or evenings in restaurants in the region. I can help you with learning to ski, if you like. I have lived in the region for more than 20 years and can give you good information about where to go. We enjoy local food and are glad to share the recipes. We speak German and French at home, but are also able to communicate in English. As a language teacher I can easily help you with learning French.
    Around the dinner table we discuss a lot. As a teacher and with two girls in school age, topics involve learning, social interaction (in the classroom), travelling, health, languages, psychology and of course homework and many more.
    I am also willing to share my passion for dance and hiking with you. I used to teach dance, so I can easily help you with it, or take you to the right places. I am also willing to show you my favorite hiking spots.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The person who will live with us will assist in the household in a very light way. I don't think that more than 2 or 3 hours of help every day will be required. It is mainly household tasks like picking up groceries, hanging the laundry, wiping the floor, maybe some cooking sometimes and some light garden work, unless you are particularly trained or interested in garden work. Depending on the timetables, the girls might need to be picked up at the bus stop. It also depends on what skills and priorities you offer.
    At the moment I am thinking of repainting the interior and I definitely need help with that. So please let me know if you are particularily skilled in painting walls. Since that job implies more hours, organization will be different.
    In addition to housing and meals, you will have a car that you can use. You will need to use it for the job, but you are free to use it for private driving as long as we are clear about who pays whose petrol.
    The schedules and tasks will be communicated in advance and and discussion about who does what and when are always very clear with us, so that you can organise your free time without surprises. We do have some flexibility, since the girls are pretty autonomous and can use their motor-scooter when needed.
    After a one month stay, if you are staying longer, I will also give you some pocket money.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    It is interesting for the girls to practice German or English, since they are pretty stable in both, but still want to progress in speaking practice.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room in our house with a balcony and Wifi connection. You can use the kitchen, since you live with us and you will share the bathroom with my daughters.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small pre-Alp village (Mijouet- Fillinges) not far from Geneva and Annecy. It is a very beautiful and touristic region. In summer tourist come for hiking (it is one hour from Mt. Blanc) and obviously in winter they come for skiing. There are plenty of other workawayers in the region. However, there will always be driving a car involved. So it is really important that you can drive and easily adapt to a new car and region. In particular, since you need to pick up one of the girls from time to time. You should also like nature. However, you won't miss the city. It is only a 20-30 minutes drive to Geneva.
    You can also get into contact with the au pairs that have lived with us, to get an idea about the kind of family we are.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a stable Wifi connection. You will have a room with a desk and a bed, but you can also use common rooms, if the noise and concentration level allows it.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It is a mountainous region, but we will be able to find a flat spot, that still leaves enough space so I can park and move my car.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a cat and it is very territorial oriented. I don't mind accepting another animal. I like animals, but there might be tension with the cat. If you take care of your animal and there is no additional work or dirt for me implied, I am fine with it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 598528551448