Help us growing food for our family and with pet alpacas near Dartmoor, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 610 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello my wife and I have pet alpacas and we are living off grid. We create energy ( well, the Sun does it for us ) into electricity and also grow our own food. We can offer you a cultural exchange i.e. help you to learn English ( and you can help me learn your language )as well as teaching you skills on the farm such as vegetable growing and farm maintenance. Often we open the farm up to the community ( no money exchange only kindness ) to help in the polytunnel and recently I have asked a volunteer to assist in putting up a bell tent ( only takes 30 minutes ) with me to be used by the locals in the community if they stay over. This is usually just for July and August. There is also work to do on the vegetable areas where I can use a small mini digger but the human input is often preferred.
    The volunteer will not be in involved in business activities but will need to contribute to the farm in ways previously described. We have internet but sometimes it is not perfect.
    I am interested in Asian culture and can speak a bit of French. On that note please be aware of the new freedom of movement regulations that come with Brexit. I look forward to learning about you and your life and you will get a good view into ours.
    Please check out my 5* reviews
    See you soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about farming and self reliance.... and about the culture.
    We can help with the language and are both patient listeners.
    We always have interesting conversations and we can learn as much from you as you will from us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are accepting volunteers during the COVID 19 period and are conforming to government guidelines. The volunteers help would be centred on the non-profit making side of the farm and not the business side. The help would Include assisting in the poly tunnel which provides food for the household . Also help on the vegetable growing area which also provides food. General maintenance around the off grid system. Also some help with the alpacas centered around those that have retired and are really pets.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Japanese: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would both like to improve our French and I am interested in all Asian languages and culture.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is self catering and is a lovely studio in the side of the barn ( Sometimes it is a self catering caravan,with use of shower an toilet etcetera ) The room is lockable and just for one volunteer. It has a sink and gas hob and grill. It has a lovely view out to the farm. There is a hot shower and toilet and fridge very near. I would prefer non-smokers as the barn and it's contents are highly flammable. (we provide all the food,bedding and towels ) There is a sitting area outside. There is a calm beautiful atmosphere here. Sometimes we could eat together but mostly you will be cooking for yourself. You will have plenty of breaks and spare time to enjoy the view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick up the volunteer from Winkleigh bus stop. You can get a bus to Winkleigh from Exeter. There is a carp fishing lake half a mile away. The villages of Dolton and Winkleigh three miles away have good pubs and small shops. Dartmoor is 10 miles away which is good for hiking. The North Devon coast is 35 minutes drive.

    The studio provided is self catering with a gas hob and grill . There is a nice sitting area outside with table and chairs. We are happy to socialise and of course be involved in cultural exchange ) but you will have your own space.

    We would hope the volunteer would leave here having gained some experience and also thought the experience was worthwhile

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 497989417245