We love to meet new people and hear their experiences in exchange for some help improving our garden near Totnes, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a cottage 4 miles outside of Totnes. We are surrounded by fields and countryside views.

    We have spent 2018 traveling across Canada with lots of Workaway stays and we would now love to host Workawayers. We love to meet new people and hear their experiences.

    We both work full time – although we do work from home some days. We are looking for people who will be happy helping with tasks on their own once we have discussed the tasks. We want you to enjoy what you do and we can prioritise tasks to suit what you enjoy.

    We would prefer if you are happy to spend 1 day of the weekend helping with us on the house/garden and the other day we would love to take you site seeing. We would like workawayers to undertake 4-5 hours work daily, 5 days a week, if you want to do an 8 hour day and take a day off that's also fine with us. If you want to help in the morning, we could pick you up at lunch time so you can explore Totnes. Cooking dinner and cleaning your room would be in your own time.

    We are very happy to host workawayers who just want to pop in for a few days or stay for a long while. We are also happy if you want to find a part time job while you stay with us. We can collect you from Totnes train station or bus stop, or if you are on the Bristol flyer bus from South Brent.

    We are close to Dartmoor, Totnes Buckfastleigh, Ashburton, Buckfast Abbey, beautiful beaches like Bantham and Bigbury. The cities of Plymouth and Exeter are a short train ride away. From our house you can walk along many public foot paths, there is a cafe and farm shop within walking distance. We have bikes you can borrow.

    We have recently purchased our cottage and the garden was very neglected. We have a design in mind for the garden, it's constantly evolving but the gist is it incorporates lots of space for fruit and vegetables while also looking attractive. We would love to share our ideas with you.

    You will have a nice small double room which has recently been decorated. You will have free use of the rest of the house with us, bathroom, study, kitchen and living/dining room. In the summer we have plenty of outside space if you wish to stay in a tent or your own campervan.

    We can provide gardening gloves, it would be sensible if you can bring a pair of boots or wellies you don't mind getting wet and muddy.

    We are very excited to hear from you.
    Christian and Emma

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share with you any skills we have: cooking, decorating, building, gardening, architecture, surveying, language practice. We would love to take you sightseeing across Devon.

  • Help

    Help

    Our garden is just too water logged over winter to walk on.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Within our home we have a small double bedroom for Workaways, this will suit a single, couple or friends who don't mind sharing. We can also put a fold out bed up in the study if you would prefer separate rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a pet dog who comes with us with us everywhere and loves people.
    We have 4 pet chickens who are organically fed and have free range time in the garden.

    We eat mainly vegetarian meals but we are happy to cater for other diets just let us know what you like.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 494868895892