Help us with future-farming at Buitenwerkplaats in Starnmeer, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

updated  

Favourited 468 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We Maud and Dagobert are both architects, spatial designers. We have set up a place where groups work in splendid isolation. These businesses (sometimes 3 persons, sometimes 40) rent meeting-rooms in our renovated former farmhouse and sometimes spent a night there too (max 12 persons). They enjoy being away from the citylife, their usual workspace and busy lives to do trainings, team-building, group-retreat at our place. We also run an Artist In Residence program culture land nl. There is always an artist at the premises, working in her or his studio, overlooking the orchard. We treat our guests to stunning spaces, organic lunch, snacks and coffee and produce from our vegetable garden and orchard.

    This is where we need your help; the future-farming part! There is a nice greenhouse, vegetable and flower beds plunged in woodchips walking paths, bushes with berries, cherry-, apple-, pear- and plum-treas, herbs and flowers underneath...There is always plenty to do. If you are prepared to stay around for the season (10 months) you could also design, plant and run your own edible garden. Give your permaculture-hands all the room they need!

    For those who are prepared to stay at least half a year, a more serious role as a congierge (partly paid) is also possible in combination with the garden-work. You would be receiving guests and taking care of them during their stay, cleaning the house and doing the laundry after they are gone. Giving potential guest tours around the house and gardens and explaining about our philosophy and possibilities. We prefer a couple for this, for the location is remote and can be lonely at times.

    Maud and Dagobert own the location. During the week we live in Amsterdam, but are often around. There are several other people to help: Saskia, our great cook, is living across from the canal in a small village and also Liset helps out with guests when needed.

    We are looking forward to see your mail, exchange ideas and hopefully meet you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are experienced in architecture, sustainable building, about landscapes, about permaculture and art. We are happy to talk about any of those!

  • Help

    Help

    There are basicly two jobs, depending on the time you are available: the garden always needs hands. We have a large vegetable garden and orchard. You can help us give this garden a boost!

    Second; we are looking for a couple that will help to host the guests, taking care of facilities; chairs, coffee, cleaning and taking care of bed linnen and towels. This requires a longer stay, minimum 6 months for a couple.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We speak both Dutch and English fluently. Good level of english is required.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation depends on your needs, the seasons, the amount of guests we are expecting etc. During weekdays, we have lunch together with the hosting-team.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated in the typical Dutch polder landscape with lots of gras and cows around. We are close to Amsterdam (30 km) , but also other nice places to visit. All of those visits require some travelling; we are in a really rural, agricultural area, without public transport. You will have to bike to get some entertainment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week




















Host ref number: 488294284599