Interesting projects at our beautiful place in nature, Brummen, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 163 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Annette and Merijn, two friends, who have moved into a beautiful place in nature. We received the keys to this place recently, and we started living here since february. Our ideal is to create a place where people can feel good and enjoy the space. We are welcoming people here to stay in the summer, because we thought it would be a lovely way to invite different people to experience this place and us, and also help us with our building / garden. We want to create a welcoming environment and therefore we will have the volunteers' best interest at heart. Our ideal for this summer is to receive some help with our space.

    About the hosts; Annette is a life coach. She loves make the building and garden look beautiful so everyone feels at home and most welcome.
    Merijn is dance teacher and hosts ecstatic dance events and some dance festivals in this summer. They are open and warmhearted. They try to make space for all the guests that arrive. Annette has one daughter (Eva) who is 26 and studied psychology and anthropology. Eva has done many workaways abroad and therefore had the idea of inviting workawayers. Because she has personal experiences with all different kinds of workaway hosts, she will take care of making sure it is a good experience for each side.

    Our dream is to eventually open up a part of our home to host some workshops, and events, in the form of a well-being centre. We don't have a big budget, and try to do everything in a sustainable way. We get almost all our furniture and stuff needed second-hand. We are still to launch a crowd-funding campaign to make our dream come true. Step by step, we are trying to make our vision into a reality. We are not making any profit and we are not generating an income from it, hopefully in the future we can get some income from hosting workshops or retreats in this beautiful place to cover all our expenses. We would love to host our first retreats or workshops in the end of the year, but nothing is guaranteed and we are still figuring out how to do this. However, that is still in the future, for now, we need some help with our building and our garden.

    Our home is divided in two parts, on the one side is the 'living' part where me and Merijn live. Here is also our kitchen and living room. The other side of the building is still quite empty and is the part where volunteers and guests can stay. It consists of some extra bedrooms, a big extra kitchen, a few big rooms that could be later used as workshop rooms, and so on.

    What we are looking for is some practical help, as well as some help around the house/garden. The building is quite big and we need to clean, paint, and fix up some of it. We also need to re-decorate (second-handly) (this is a fun job) and have some garden-work done. Mostly we would like to are easy-going people that could help us get some work done, and that would like to stay in this wonderful place to help us out with all the things that still need to be done before our opening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The terrain is very interesting. The building is situated in Brummen, on a characteristic piece of land surrounded by buildings similar to this one. There is a small forest, and a pond, and some empty buildings, there is a school (that is not being used right now) and another community with youngsters next door, that also functions as a very small alternative school. A very cool project, and a lovely neighbor. They are also non-profit. Sometimes there are campfires with music outside, and you can go and join them. We also get many visits from their dog Floyd, and we ourselves have a cat.

    It is a great experience to be surrounded by these projects, for ourselves but also for a future workawayer. We are planning on hosting multiple workawayers, and therefore we think it is a great way to get to know each other. This place has a nice atmosphere to be in, and you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings and towns that are closeby (by bike!) such as Zutphen. Of course you can profit from great spaces to practice yoga etc, or learn about ecstatic dance.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help with odd tasks and projects around the house. This means some light construction, cleaning the rooms, painting, etc . We would appreciate people that are physically capable/strong, and handy people that are willing to learn will also be greatly appreciated. There is also room for more artistic painting outside, and helping in the garden or on the land outside. Since there are children around sometimes, it might happen we need some help with kids or cooking. Please let us know in advance what kind of tasks you're good at or are (not) willing to do.

    We would ask you to help 5 days a week to help out for 5 hours a day, but we want to give our workawayers some space to help in their own pace. We would like to do the tasks together, if you are an early riser we can see what is working for the whole. Our idea is to get tasks done from 10 - 1, have lunch, and then again from 2 to 4. We are always up for communicating and adjusting. Weekends are sometimes quite busy here, and we ourselves have the saturday as doing day.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bed in a private room in the building, they still have to be made ready/clean (of course you can share a room with fellow workawayers, but there is enough space to have private rooms)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The workawayers will stay on the part of the building that is now still quite empty. We want to stress that we are busy with our own work and our plans to make this into a place for well-being, plus there are small chilldren around half of the time, and therefore we don't always have much time. We offer to cook for you and eat all together 1 or 2 times a week. But during the day, there should be plenty of time to get to know each other (the workawayers) and helping together. Also, if you want, we offer to take you once a week on a trip to go sightseeing, or visit a small town/natural phenomena.

    We can offer the workawayers their own private kitchen, so that you can prepare your own food, we will provide enough food for balanced meals. We have a vegetarian household so there will not be any meat or fish, we also do not allow any hard drugs or regular use of cannabis!!

    We love cooking and mainly have food like oatmeal, fruits, bread, cheese, beans, rice, pasta, etc. We want to make lunch-time a common activity when we are together. Since the evenings are hectic many times, this means it could happen that for the other nights, you will eat with the other workawayers or by yourself. We have a vision, but we will figure out along the way how everything with meals will work out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 664662713636