Help create a permaculture garden, DIY projects and general help around and in the house in the warmest area in the Netherlands, Nederweert

  • Netherlands
  • Favourited 102 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are couple in our 30’s and living on a beautiful piece of land, almost 2ha. Our dream is to develop this area to a peaceful land with some accents of permaculture, tiny house, places to build campfires, a ‘blotevoetenpad’, experience connecting to earth with your body. Our dream is to create a relaxing, inspiring place where one can calm down, take a small pause from everyday life and enjoy being outside, working with your hands. Generally we are working on our land from Friday to Monday each week. Tuesday to Thursday we have other work to do, sometimes from home or location. We’re early birds: we get up every day around 5:30 and go to bed around 9 pm, also in the weekends. We love catching the first sunrays of the day and Ron starts every morning with a cold swim. Marcella likes to run in the morning in the forest behind our land.
    Ron is hard hearing so it’s important that you coordinate your communication with him as he can understand you perfectly when he can lipread at the same time. Marcella speaks English fluent so she can always translate if necessary. Ron is very keen on teaching you all kinds of handymans work and the best way to do that is showing and doing it yourself! We believe communication won’t be a problem if you’re a positive easy-going kind of person.
    We do value our private time, so normally in the evenings you would spend alone or with others WA-ers. On Sundays we also (try ;)) to have some free time that we spend together, but if we’re going somewhere, a party or ecstatic dance, you’re of course welcome to join us!
    We’re living on a large piece of land that we’re still building up so it’s important that you’re tidy, if you lose something it’s really hard to find it back!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ron is very handy, he learned himself so many things from when he was a little boy. He can teach you so many things about building your own houses or many other things. He is inspiring and has gain quite some knowledge about all sorts of things. Marcella followed a permaculture design course and is trying to slowly set up parts of the land through those ideas. We are open for good ideas if you have experience in permaculture, gardening, building and we would love to hear the experiences you’ve had and brought you here. Ron is a big fan of ecstatic dance, Marcella likes psyparties and generally we love being busy and outdoors.

  • Help


    We would need help with all sorts of things! Depending on your skills we'll have to figure out what works best. Building a tiny house, painting, carpenting (it would a plus if you have some experience!), gardening, making a green house, starting permaculture-like garden, keeping up the pool, building a chicken coop, helping with household chores, cooking.
    We have so much to do! We really want you to do something you have fun with and get energy from because we believe that keeps you going, but household chores are also necessary to keep a home nice and livable ;)
    We start early in the morning 07:30 sharp and work till 14:00 hr with two breaks in between.
    We would like workawayers who are willing to stay for a while. We always start with two weeks and from there on we see how its going and if we want to continue (for you and us)

    At the moment we don’t have a lot of gardening tasks to do, we’re still really busy with building and construction tasks. In the end of October we will probably start working on the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have several options such as caravans where you can sleep, depending on the availability. With the help of workawayers we've build an outside kitchen and bathroom. Water gets warmed by the sun. And there is a compost toilet.
    As we mentioned we get up early, 5:30 am, have breakfast early and we normally have dinner around 18pm, in the winter earlier, sometimes in the summer a bit later. You’re welcome to join us and if you have some recipes you would like to share with us, we would love that! We try to eat mostly vegan/vegetarian but sometimes do eat some fish or meat.
    We have WiFi connection around the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful piece of the Netherlands. It supposed to be the warmest spot in the country! (that gives a lot of other challenges ;)) The nature around is beautiful, when you leave the gate you can walk into a nature area and walk for hours. Train station is only 15 minutes from here and has good connection to Amsterdam and we’re very close to Belgium and Germany. We have a bike you can use around here. And we have a canoe and a small boat. We sometimes go sailing on Sundays.
    Marcella travelled a bit in Australia and did some workaway trips over there.
    It's important to us that you feel comfortable being around but that we feel that as well.. We love open communication about that. On that note: if you're someone who likes to smoke weed/drink/ or use other drugs regularly we don't think this is a good spot for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 775974963196

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help around the farmhouse in Diepenveen, Netherlands
Welcoming a fun, temporary family member in Noord Brabant, Netherlands