Learn about sustainable ranching in the interior of B.C., Canada



Favourited 155 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: No minimum

  • Description


    Our historic ranch is located in the scenic San Jose River valley. It is 1200 acres of meadows and woods with a (small) river running through it.
    This is an update on what is happening at the ranch this year - we have sold the cow herd, keeping about 50 yearlings that will be grazing the fields this summer. We are planning on travelling ourselves, so are looking for work awayers who would be interested in taking care of the ranch while we are away. Having a vehicle would be good but not a requirement, we have bicycles for your use, so that you would be able to explore and enjoy the surrounding area. We would like you to arrive before we leave and spend some time together, then caretake the ranch while we are out and about. This would mean moving portable electric fence for managed grazing of cattle, caring for a few chickens, a cat, some yard work and the vegetable garden. This is a great area for hiking, biking, fishing and just spending time in the outdoors. There are lots of wildlife in the area, deer, coyotes, bear, moose many song birds, also wolves, and cougar, although they are more elusive and you would be lucky to see them.

    We use holistic management practices on our ranch. Our cattle are grass-fed using management intensive grazing with portable electric fence. We do not use herbicides, pesticides or chemical fertilizers, and our cattle are not given growth hormones. We are committed to ranching in a sustainable manner and strive to improve the health of our soil through good management practices.
    We enjoy hosting volunteers and learning from you as well as working with you. We enjoy music and art, and have a piano in the house for those who can play it as neither of us can, although Clint plays the guitar.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For this season you would learn how to grow your own food and the care of farm animals and will be independent doing this as well.
    We have made so many good friends during the time we have hosted work away travellers, and have learned so much from them about other cultures, hopefully we do the same for our guests. 😊

  • Help


    We don't follow a lot of routines here - we tackle whatever the day brings - We calve in April, plant the gardens in May, and pretty much work with the seasons, managing the pastures and cattle over the year as the pasture growth dictates, also with the garden planting, tending and harvesting in season. We have chickens and house pets,and whatever animal may show up needing a home.
    We are looking for helpers who are self-motivated and interested in sustainable agriculture, who enjoy working with nature or we would also be very happy to host someone who was willing to do basic house and yard care while enjoying life on a ranch.
    Karen has an organic vegetable garden and most of the food we eat is grown on the property. Cooking opportunities include canning and bread making.
    Clint plays the guitar and Karen enjoys different art projects. If you have an interest in taking apart and saving the wood from a smallish old building Karen would love the help. Karen also makes baskets from local rushes, roots, grasses and is willing to teach some basic skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Private room in the house with a semi private washroom. We do have a dog and cat that spend Time in the house so anyone with allergies need to be aware of that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A bicycle is available for use and there are many interesting places to bike or hike. We are 30 km from the nearest town. We enjoy our community, and having guests visit. If you are interested in any projects of your own let us know and we would usually try to help it happen if possible. We are very family oriented.
    We have wi-fi in the house but as it is satellite, time spent on it is limited, contact with friends and family daily is fine, streaming movies not so much, cell phones work here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

Host ref number: 487432867374