Join our American-Japanese family in Shiga, Japan

Country

Japan

updated  

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6, Japanese and American couple and the kids who speak both Japanese and English but mostly English at home. We are interested in meeting new people and learning from them about their world. We are interested in creative solutions and alternative and sustainable ways of life. Right now our biggest interests are kids (ours of course, but all the kids) and their future with more holistic, cooperative and sustainable approach. We are parents after all:)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On top of staying in an 150 year old, traditional Japanese house (that is in the middle of renovation) with a Japanese/American family... Omihachiman is a small and quiet town and you will get a sense of what life in a small town in Japan feels like. The city is small enough it is walkable to shops. There are also small lakes and lake biwako (the largest lake in Japan) near by that is accessible by either bus or bicycle (there is an extra set of bicycle you can use). Kyoto is accessible in under an hour and Osaka in a little over an hour by train.

    We want you to make the most of your time here and we encourage people to explore. Weekends and most week nights are free time for you, and we are happy to help you find places and experiences of interest to you.

  • Help

    Help

    Primarily we need help with childcare. We have three little ones; ages 7, 4, 2. and In September/2019, we just had our fourth. So, it is important that you enjoy being around children and have patience and curiosity while interacting, engaging, and playing with them.

    We need help mostly on weekdays, and the schedule roughly is the following:
    Monday & Friday: 10am to 12pm - go to a park, library, or somewhere outside if the weather allows then 5pm to 7pm play with kids or help out with dinner preparation.
    Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 10 to 2 - attend a play group with 2 boys.
    That said, the schedule can change day to day and we are able to accommodate you if you have plans.

    While we ask for you to be responsible for watching the kids for about 20 hours a week, please keep in mind that kids have no concept of schedules. Pretty much anytime you are around they will want to play and interact with you. We will do our best to take over, but if you need a break it is probably best to go to your room or be out of the house.

    On top of four kids, we are also in the middle of renovating a 150 year old traditional Japanese house. So, from time to time we may ask for your help with work around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese , English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room, but the rest of the house is shared with our family. Meals are provided in that we welcome you to eat with us and share in what is prepared; the cuisine is homestyle Japanese and simple. Though we do make pancakes on Sunday mornings:)

    We try to treat you like one of the family and we hope you can make yourself at home in our home. We would like your help keeping the house in order. We will not ask you to do our household chores or clean the toilet, but we do ask you to clean up after yourself and help out... just like a member of the family would.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned above, when we welcome someone into our home, we treat them like a member of the family and we would like them to return the same consideration:

    Please conserve energy and water
    Please keep the house and amenities clean
    Please keep cell phone use to a minimum around children (We do not have TV in the house. We try not to be on our phone or computer when our children are around.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 - 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 153995759951