updated  

Organic smallholding with a small family in Kerry, Ireland

  • Favourited 138 times
  • Last activity: 7 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *** Oct help needed to put the garden to bed and refuel it, maintenance on property - no experience necessary***

    We live near Castlegregory village on the Dingle Peninsula, fortunate to enjoy beach and mountain surrounds. Rural location, equidistant from Tralee and Dingle towns.

    Nik is a woodworker and gardener. He has studied organic horticulture & permaculture. I (Olive) am a food enthusiast with an interest in biodiversity. We share the care of our two sons - 4 and 1. We both work part-time and I study part-time. It's a busy enough household, and we could do with your help.

    We enjoy being outdoors and with friends, and have a close-knit rural community around us.

    We bought the farm 4 years ago. We hope to develop it in line with what nature wants for it, along with some gentle cultivation so that we can live as sustainably as possible....

    ... you are welcome to join us and share in this experience together.

    Míle Fáilte!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lots to take in around Dingle, with great social aspects and rooted in Irish culture - art, music, festivals and Irish language Gaeltacht areas nearby.

    Natural environment around us has varied habitats with lots of activities you can do such as mountains to climb, Atlantic ocean to enjoy and miles of quiet beaches about 15 mins walk away. Surfboards, wetsuits, snorkels all here.

    While experience is not necessary, it would be great if you came with some experience of growing and/or building, and we'll facilitate you to use the time on our small farm to further your learning of organic horticulture, permaculture, tree and land management, woodwork and child care. We've a lot of books to read on these subjects as well as sharing our own experiences of putting these things into practice, failing and learning and trying again!

    We hope to learn from you as well, particularly if you have experiences with gardening, farm or holistic management and supporting children to play, be curious and explore the world.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - Help in the small holding of about 5 acres with a few garden spaces, chickens, a river and 2 fields, hedgerows and trees to plant and maintain.
    - Gardening is on our organic fruit and vegetable garden, preparing, developing and maintaining, sowing and planting. All tools provided, bring your own if you want.
    - Building and eco projects arise from time to time, especially a temporary movable hut for people, such as yourselves, to sleep in, with other ideas for building temporary spaces for get togethers, sauna, sleeping and creative projects - we just need the help to do it.
    - Babysitting our sons while we are doing the above or working in our other jobs. Eldest loves to draw, read, bake, and be outdoors, engages in fun imaginative play - supporting him to help with gardening and housework or in any creative activity would be good. Youngest is running around and climbing now so keeping him safe and stimulated would be great.

    Ideas for improvements in all of these areas are welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've a spare downstairs double bedroom with wood burning stove, and access to bath or shower and toilets.

    However, with very young children, our preference is for someone who is self-sufficient, with their own camper van or mobile, which we can accommodate on our land as close or far from the house as you like. Reason being it's not always good timing to have people in the house with two young boys, so you can have a chance to sleep even when we don't!

    With transport links not brilliant in this area, it is also good to have your own transport, though of course we'll help out with lifts when we can and provide bikes for local travel. We can also insure you on our car if you have a full licence and you're over 25.

    Food is provided, you're welcome to join family meals. And to cook if you like!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kerry is the Kingdom County of Ireland, located on the Wild Atlantic Way on the west coast, and a beautiful place to be. Although we are near two towns, it is rural so it might feel remote - if city life is needed Cork and Limerick are about 2-3 hours away on public transport. Airport in Farranfore is closest, then Cork and Shannon, with Dublin farthest away.

    There's lots to learn in the area - Irish language and music, yoga classes, meditation, surfing and kitesurfing schools...

    Public transport links exist but are pretty infrequent; you need to get a lift to the bus stop to travel to Dingle, or Tralee which is the jump off point for other buses and trains to rest of Ireland. Otherwise this can involve a car journey, long walk, bike ride or a hitch hike. Castlegregory village is close by - a long walk or short cycle ride away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a small office in our home with desk, computer and printer.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Ideal! Large concrete pad which has had a caravan previously.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dog or cats ok if they if stay outside our house due to allergies.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3-4 days a week, negotiable.

Host ref number: 484936633126

Feedback (6)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Dog lovers needed in West Cork, Ireland
Help with childminding in Allen, Co. Kildare, Ireland