Join our organic off the grid homestay on a community in NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our beautiful piece of paradise is nestled in a community covering 300 acres of sub-tropical rainforest with abundant wildlife, somewhere in between Uki, Kyogle, Lismore and Nimbin (Northern Rivers). We are surrounded by stunning national parks and nearby swimming holes (see photo) and less than an hour to the beach. There are plenty of stunning walks for those who love hiking, with spectacular scenes across the caldera to Mt Warning. This is a great base to explore the area.

    The small hippy town of Nimbin is 20 minutes away and has a fabulous farmers market each week with lots of organic and local produce. Lismore is the nearest city which is a 45 min drive and has all the usual attractions and services.

    Hubby, our little Rowan (16 months) and I live in a wooden cabin amongst the gum trees. It has a separate studio (basic room which has no power) for guests/helpers. We are trying to get our veggie patch on the go again after the drought. We live as chemical-free as possible, we use natural products in day to day life as well as for renovating and prefer to eat organic food. We are a non-smoking (tobacco) household. Hubby is a chef so please expect delicious food :)

    We are looking for 1 or 2 people to stay and help us with a variety of projects in the garden and house :)

    Helpers will have their own cabin separate to the main house, there are two beds in the cabin so it's a shared bedroom if there are two helpers travelling together. You would be sharing a bathroom and kitchen with us. We are off the grid apart from a telephone so the main house runs off solar power and rain water tanks with a composting loo! If you like long showers and hairdryers this is not the place for you :) There is limited internet and no mobile signal at the house but it is available up in certain spots around us.

    Please do get in touch if you love nature and would like to stay in a little cabin in the hills amongst the gum trees :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our cabin is completely off the grid apart from a phone line. Helpers can experience what it is like to rely on the sun for power and rain for drinking water. We use eco-products around the house and can share our experience with living as chemical-free as possible. The little guest cabin has no power to it so you are literally sleeping without interference from any electromagnetic fields produced by electrical circuits and appliances. Everyone who stays says that they have the best sleep.

    I enjoy pottery and would be happy to share what I know with a helper. We have a local studio with kiln so your clay can be fired. We also enjoy fermenting kombucha and water kefir and would be happy to share skills and experiences with those who stay.

    We have abundant wildlife at our cabin, we share the space with beautiful pademelons, birds and owls and more.

  • Help

    Help

    We have big ideas for our organic veggie patch and would like to experiment with some wicking beds as well as enclosing the area with netting. We'd love someone to give us a hand with this.

    And if you are keen on bush regeneration we also need lots of helps with our 5 acre plot of land. There is lantana and other weeds to be cleared and we have a nursery of native trees ready to plant.

    For those who love working with wood, building, plumbing or being creative we can also find a few jobs around the property that need doing including repairs and maintenance. We are also wanting to add to existing structures, build a small deck and extent the guest cabin to include a small shower and composting loo.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The main house provides access to the shared bathroom and kitchen and has a lounge with TV for watching movies only (we don't have a TV atrial) as well as internet access. We have a beautiful veranda overlooking the trees which are a peaceful place to hang out. The guest cabin is one room with a small veranda. It has two beds so we can accommodate two people who are happy to share the space. There are no separate facilities at the guest cabin, just a simple room with a small deck and no power it to it so we use rechargable lamps for lighting. Powerpoints are available at the main house although being off the grid solar means we need to be mindful of power consumption.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local hippy town of Nimbin is a hot spot for people who want to live an eco life and there are often fun activities happening. The village is a fun place to hang out and drink coffee. Locally there are number of beautiful swimming holes. There isn't much transport but we are happy to take helpers out sight seeing when we can and there might be lifts available through other members of our community. We are also close to stunning scenic drives and walks including Mt Warning.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 482164795751