Come Explore Auckland and help with simple home decoration tasks, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    112

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (1 helper only)

    Most of my adult life has been working in the area of social justice, currently I work for a charity that assists those on low incomes to get access to safe, fair and affordable loans. I am proud of the work we do as it makes a big difference in people’s lives.

    I am a New Zealander so growing up the sea was a big part of my life. I currently live on a small peninsula in Auckland that has several beaches and old volcanoes. New Zealanders are generally very easy going people who are interested in the world as we are a very small country.
    I have a TESOL qualification and would be happy to help with your conversational English.

    I need help with with some indoor painting (including prep work). It's wonderful to have Workaway helpers to get things done. It is such a big help.

    You can suit yourself as to when you would do the work, e.g. 8 hours one day and nothing the next.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Devonport is an historic area of Auckland. There is a small local museum near by, and the Navy museum 20 min walk away. Devonport has a few art galleries with local artists work. New Zealanders are friendly people who are often interested in other cultures. It's easy to strike up a conversation on the ferry or outside the library.
    I was born in Devonport as were my parents.
    An important aspect to New Zealand is Maori culture. I have studied Maori history and am always keen to talk about what makes New Zealand unique. Check out the haka on youtube.
    I help out at the local theatre. If there is a play in production you would be welcome to come along and lend a hand.
    Our loans make a bit difference to people, it can make the difference between feeding their family or going hungry.

  • Help

    Help

    I live in a unit (50 sqm) built 40 years ago.
    Having someone to help with simple decorating tasks would be a big assistance to me.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The unit is two bedrooms. I have the spare bed in the smaller bedroom.
    I love to cook. I am gluten free myself and I'd be happy to accommodate food preferences.
    My home has new carpet and is very well insulated so it's always a comfortable temperature.
    The street is quiet with a lovely park a few minutes walk away. Devonport has many parks and several beaches within walking distance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in Devonport which is one of the nicest areas in Auckland. There is a ferry 10 min walk away that takes you to the city. Waitemate Harbour is beautiful, boats can be taken to the other islands in the harbour. Rangitoto Island is dormant volcanic cone. It last erupted 600 years ago and the vegetation is relatively new. You can imagine dinosaurs among the rocks.
    I have an electric bicycle that you can use to get around Devonport and Auckland. Devonport is like a quiet little town, no wild night life. I've heard you can find that across in the city.
    I do not have a TV but there is the internet. Devonport has a movie theatre, live music and several good restaurants.
    I have traveled and enjoy learning about other places and i plan to take up the nomad life at the end of September/October.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

two small birds nest, Workaway has put the image sideways.
My unit is the door on the right.
Garden out the front of the unit.












Host ref number: 475476736826