Help in renovation in a mountain house in Villalonga, Spain

  • Favourited 86 times
  • Last activity: 12 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Located in the mountains of La Safor in Raco del Duc, Villa Josefa is one of the only houses you will find in this national park. We are a 30 to 45-minute bike ride to Villalonga where you can get groceries or go to a restaurant.
    Gandia is a larger city 20min car drive from Villalonga, there you will find all you might need.

    The house has been abandoned for 8 years, for a year Nika and her friends have been renovating the place to make it livable and magical again. There is still a lot of work to be made in and around the house.
    For the moment we focus inside with general renovations, and later this year we will start developing the permaculture garden.
    The skills we mostly look for are construction, renovation, building furniture, carpentry, gardening, landscaping, painting, plastering, and plumbing.

    You will live in the house with Nika and Dor, Nika french Canadian painter dedicated to spiritual practices, Dor Israeli architect and stoic philosopher, as well as Juanita Banana, a lovely Spanish water dog.
    If you have an interest in arts and spirituality it is a plus, but not a must.
    Food is provided, we go shopping once a week in the car and gather drinking water at the nearby spring.

    No cars are allowed in the national park except for those living there. If you plan on staying for a long time and you have a car, we could register it at the town hall to be able to drive to the house. Otherwise only bicycles are allowed on the trails.

    On your off time, you can enjoy the river and go for hikes which are numerous around the house.
    If you have a car, the beach is only a 20 minutes drive, as well as Gandia and Oliva who are larger towns with many amenities.

    Nika speaks French, English, German and Spanish.
    Dor speaks Hebrew, German and English.

    We look forward to welcome you here!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy the grandiose nature of the Spanish mountains.
    Daily meditation and cold river swim with us.
    Aurigin project down the valley which Nika is currently building. This might be of interest for people with creative and spiritual affinities.

  • Help

    Help

    As a workaway here you should mainly help on the renovation of the house and clearing of the future garden.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have a private bedroom with single or double bed.
    We have 2 living rooms, 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms, satellite internet, grid electricity and wood stove.
    If you have a camper van, you can park it in front after registering it to the town hall to be allowed to drive on the trail.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a bicycle you can use on-site.
    Dor has a van we use once a week for shopping.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The wifi connection is good

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have one dog, so other animals need to be ok with her. No cats due to alergies

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours/day max, 5 days/week.

Host ref number: 474987943436

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback