Help with a mix of garden care, animal care, land care, housework and childcare in BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 251 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Organic as possible, Beautiful 7 acres with fruit trees, large garden, meat chickens, laying hens, cedar sauna and a free range, fun 12 and 8 yr olds:)

    Our homesteading family loves to cook/prepare/ferment and offer free range meats, vegan, vegetarian, gluten free ( we are celiacs) or raw food cuisine. A fun family to share space with :) We also have kayaks, fishing rorods and bikes that you can borrow. We ask for 5 hours of work each day with a minimum stay of 6days.

    We are flexible with scheduling so that you have the chance to explore the area. I love to take guests to see the river,waterfalls and beaches on our down time too.

    If you like to work in nature, enjoy a quiet setting and want to connect with like minded folk we are awaiting :)
    We prefer and will give priority to couples with cars. We are not always around and do not supervise much.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a wonderful place to be, especially in the spring to fall seasons, guests often remark how much they learn about herbal medicine and organic farming when they stay, we value permaculture and sustainability

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    You have to be self-motivated and work independently as we are not always around. Help needed would be a mix of garden care, animal care, land care, housework and childcare.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer you a self contained 24 foot RV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are quite a few things to do in the area; kayaking on the ocean, hiking to a waterfall and cycling around the nearby islands. There is also a famous farmers market and waterfalls right down the road. We have cell reception and internet here too. Nearby there are many lakes and rivers, hiking and mountain-biking trails and swimming and fishing spots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day for 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 377698753996