Last minute help needed on Market Garden in Wicklow

Country

Ireland

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    530

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a 1.5 acre (0.6 ha) property that we are in the process of converting into a smallholding and organic vegetable business. Located in South Wicklow (1.5 hours drive from Dublin), our house is situated in a stunning part of the country, in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains and near to the ancient forest of Tomnafinnoge.

    This spring we need help making beds, sowing seeds and generally preparing for the growing season. Volunteering with us would be a great opportunity for anyone who is interested in starting an organic smallholding project or wants to learn how to grow food.

    Laurence is originally from Dublin, he likes eating sandwiches and used to be a maths teacher so therefore enjoys measuring the gradients of slopes and cataloging seeds on excel spreadsheets. Yasmine is originally from London and has a love of yoga and bright colours. Her main motivation from wanting to grow veg is her love of eating it.

    We have 4 hens, a pig and and cat.

    We are both vegetarians and enthusiastic vipassana meditators.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from a stay with us by learning what it is like to start a long-term small-holding project. They will gain knowledge about organic growing. They will get a taste of the rural life which can be a lot more exciting than city living!

  • Help

    Help

    Here are some of the jobs that need to be done:

    - preparing the ground for planting in the spring
    - planting seeds
    - weeding and making beds

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a private room in a traditional Irish cottage.

    We have a lovely cat called Tasha and enjoy some very nice views of the surrounding countryside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We don't have a car so Workawayers will need to make their way here by public transport. There is a bus service running between Gorey and Shillelagh (2 km from our door) 6 days a week twice a day. Gorey is well connected by bus (and train) to Dublin and Wexford.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 473673753932