Enjoy our rural idyll by the sea and help a friendly family in Caherdaniel, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to the Family!

    We are a family of three, with Irish roots, who moved to Caherdaniel three years ago from inner city London and haven't looked back!

    Chris is retired after spending his working life in humanitarian work and I (Philomena) run a grant making charity from home and teach in a university. Our daughter, Aibhlinn ('Ave-leen') is six and is a lively, fun and kind girl who loves riding, rugby, dancing and being outdoors.

    We are learning how to run a small holding and to tend the land and various animals who have found their way to us. There's always lots to do and we are always open to new ideas and projects. We genuinely love this place and would like to share its richness with fellow travellers. We are interested in finding a couple or two friends to join us over the summer months.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are privileged to live in a spectacular spot on the planet - there is so much to learn here about the sea, nature, gardening, rural life and caring for kids and animals in a positive and creative way. We have travelled extensively ourselves - Chris spent a lifetime in international development - and so we are keen to meet like-minded others, who like us, care about people and the planet. Caherdaniel, our village is a lively spot in the summer with many tourists passing through and a thriving music, food and culture scene. There is always something going on!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our family live on a beautiful small holding overlooking the sea, with two donkeys, five chickens, two dogs (all rescues), 20,000 bees (!) and 6.5 acres to manage environmentally. We need help, especially over the summer when our six year daughter is off school, to entertain her, and help with animal care, gardening and eco projects. Summer is always a busy time for us to manage, and an extra pair of hands (or two) would be much appreciated! We are looking for one or two people (couple or friends) over the age of 25 (for car insurance purposes) with a full clean driving licence to spend some time joining in our family life and helping out with summer projects we have planned.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large farmhouse with two spare double bedrooms, which share an ensuite bathroom. There is plenty of living space in a comfortable setting, and a 'tiny house' in the grounds if you need some 'alone' space too. We generally eat together in the evenings, though the fridge and pantry are well stocked if you'd sooner cook for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a ten minute walk to the famed beaches of Derrynane (voted 4th best beach in the whole of Ireland) where there is good surfing, swimming and water sports all happening, and the national park and gardens of Derrynane House, home of the famous 19th Century Irish 'liberator' Daniel O'Connell. The area is rich in history, natural beauty and archaeological sites and the local village of Caherdaniel has a lively pub, with other pubs and restaurants close by. There is great hiking in the mountains around you, the walking route, 'the Kerry way' passes our doorstep, and you would have access to a bike and our car for travel in your time off. Chris might even let you drive his boat if you ask nicely! The county town of Killarney is 75 minutes away, Cork city a 2.5 hr drive and we are on the famous ring of Kerry which demands a scenic drive around the 179km of wild atlantic way. This place suits anyone who loves the great outdoors!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a driveway that would comfortably fit a large camper van.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Maybe - depending on how they might mix with all our own pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 271112945657