Join our community retreat center and help with gardening and maintenance in Loenen, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Bas and Astrid, we run a small retreat center in the woods. We intend to create a safe haven for everyone, where you will find love, peace, and inspiration. Where you can relax and enjoy the present moment. We host groups (20-25) who do yoga / meditation retreats or other guests looking for peace & quiet. A place where you can be exactly who you are, and who you want to be. The retreat center has 14 rooms and a few bungalows around the center. We can accommodate you in a cabin, caravan or tent on the field, or indoors during winter. Your stay with us is free, and the vegetarian meals, drinks, activities, etc, too. We expect you to help around 4-5 hours daily. We do not offer a salary, and we do not have high working demands. The main job is to help around the garden, or help with maintenance and painting on the 3 acres of land. We have a small team of enthusiastic hosts and work a lot with lovely volunteers. Just bring your own ideas, creativeness and talents to our center! If you dare and are interested in doing so, we can provide a platform for you to give your own workshop or class.
    !! Good to mention is that we do not host groups 24/7, this means that some days are very quiet and there are no meals those days! You can always help yourself in our kitchen though and cook up something yourself.
    !! We do not allow smoking on the terrain.
    !! We have dogs & cats, so if you are allergic it might be better to find another host.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We set an example for how to help eachother out, without really needing money. Exchanging knowledge and helping eachother out with whatever is necessary. A win-win for everyone. You have a lot of freedom in your chores here, as long as we communicate clearly about our expectations on who does what. You will get to know a lot about yourself and others in this environment, where one moment nothing seems to happen, and the next moment you are sitting by the fire place with a few people, or something unexpected happens. You can be alone here, walk deep into the woods, or you can be with lots of people, depending on the day, and your mood. Life is how you choose it to be!

  • Help

    Help

    Help with painting (outside and inside), maintenance, plumbing and helping out in our big gardens. Also cleaning itself might be needed sometimes.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cabin, caravan, tent or inside the house in the attic with a bathroom, depending on the weather and availability. When there are groups (most days) all meals are included, when there are no groups / guests, you can make your own food in the kitchen, together with others or alone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A walk into the woods is recommended! to the small waterfalls, the sheep, play with our dogs or cats, go to the zoo, chat with friends or other volunteers, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 472226313229