Join us at our nice place in the countryside, but still close to a lovely city in Overijssel, Netherlands



Favourited 355 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a family of 5. Jean Paul 48, Cindy 46 and our 3 children are a boy of 17, a girl of 15 and a little girl of 7 years old. We both worked in the travel and tourism industry. 5 years ago we decided to start our own small holiday accommodation and bought this old farmhouse. We renovated the building with a lot of help from workawayers (and we are not ready yet...). Now we rent out 2 accommodations: a studio and a holiday house. Our goal is to offer a place where guests can relax and have quality time together in a natural environment. Last year, we turned the big barn into a place to live for ourselves. Again with the help of workawayers. We really enjoyed this time. This summer, we will focus on some carpentry work and painting outside, as well paving. We can also use some help in the (vegetable) garden. We need help in the private part of the building, not for the company.

    The farm is situated in the country site. The city centre of Zwolle is only 10 minutes by car. Zwolle is situated in the central East of the Netherlands. Amsterdam, Utrecht and Groningen are easy to reach by car or train within the hour.
    As you can read in our feedbacks, we really like to meet new people and other cultures. We love to share and spend time together, next to the (sometimes hard) work.

    We can use extra hands in August and September.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cindy is running the business (B&B and holiday home) and Jean Paul is working for the National Forestry. Our direct neighbours are still farming with cows and sheep. Zwolle is an ancient city with stone walls and medieval buildings. Deventer (35km), Kampen (20km), Hattem (20km) and Zwolle are so called "Hanzesteden" and were the home of merchants in the 16th century who traded over the river "IJssel". Within 45 minutes you can visit several national parks (Weerribben Wieden, Sallandse Heuvelrug, Drents Friese Wold, Drentse AA, Hoge Veluwe). Zwolle has a big diversity in cultural events during these months.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We can use help in the garden, some carpentry and painting projects outside, paving

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have a caravan available with a small toilet. You can take a shower in our house. In summertime, when we host more workawayers, we offer you a tent to sleep in. We place the tents around the caravan, which then will be used as a shared livingspace.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We speak English, German, French and of course Dutch and a little Spanish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day (20-25 hours per week), flexible

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 329845714997