Help me to create an organic garden in the mountains in Niederrickenbach, Switzerland.

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Sarah and Rado - an Australian-Swiss couple. We live on a organic sheep farm in the Niederrickenbach region (2 hours from Zurich) in Switzerland. We are a young couple looking for help on our farm. You will eat with us and experience a true cultural exchange.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They could learn some German and experience the beautiful swiss countryside. We can teach them how to make some swiss meals. We could go for some excursions together. Also, there a many hiking and biking trails in this region. While we don't have bikes, you are welcome to bring your own.

    Niederrickenbach is known as a 'kraftort' which means 'a place of energy' and many people make a pilgrimage here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a small working organic sheep farm. We welcome people to come and stay with us to experience life in the Swiss Mountains! We are 1000m above sea level and love to meet new people. Rado is learning English and we would love to have people come who speak English with him. But, if you speak German we will all understand and Spanish, Italian or French, we will try to communicate! Haha.

    The farm is small, and Rado is able to do everything by himself, but he will be happy to show you how to milk the sheep, make hay or even drive a tractor if you want!

    We do not require that you do farm work! You are free to choose how you would like to help, and we are open to your suggestions for creative projects!

    I would love some help creating a big garden as we would like to be as self-sufficent as possible. We also have projects, such as creating an area for chickens, a small pond for ducks and a sitting area outside for summer. Work-awayers are also welcome to cook with us and show us food from their countries!

    If you love hiking and nature, you'll love spending time up here. Theres no fixed times to help, but we would be happy to exchange around 4 hours of work per day in exchange for accommodation and 3 meals with us per day. We prefer to have meals with our workawayers as this makes for a better relationship between host and work-awayers.

    As we live 1000 meters above sea level, we will be happy to take you to the train station and pick you up from there if you want to explore the town in the day time, or there is also a cable-car that you can take at your own cost.

    We are looking for open minded , happy people for some good conversations and laughs.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can host upto 3 workawayers at a time. You would have your own bedroom and will share the bathroom with other workawayers. The rooms have a beautiful view. Workawayers will have access to the kitchen all day. And there will be a shared TV with chromecast for all the workawayers.

    The house has 3 floors and the workawayers will be living on the second floor.

    We would request you not to bring pets with you as we are a working farm with sheep. However children are more than welcome to join their parents in a work-away with us!

    Meals not on the farm (in your free time) will not be covered. If you stay at the farm though or go for a excursion with us, you are welcome to eat with us or cook your own meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you can visit the beautiful town of Niederrickenbach. Also Engelberg and Stans are beautiful towns nearby which you can take the train to or we can drive you there depending on the day and the workload we have.
    Luzern is about 45 minutes away and there are beautiful lakes around as well. We do excursions to these lakes sometimes and will be happy if you would like to join us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 468444967563