Live in a van, have fun helping with holiday rentals in beautiful Victoria, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 230 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    317

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The most important part of this job is the ability to be a 5 star cleaner with an amazing eye for detail plus the stamina to work a 5 hour day running up and down stairs and climbing ladders into lofts.

    This job will take an incredible skill set in management and just plain old fashioned hard work.
    Are you up for the task as this really will take an exceptional person or persons?

    I have a 1991 VW transporter which I use for workaway people.
    The van life is a way of being a minimalist and learning how to enjoy a simpler life.

    Working here is a fantastic opportunity for you to learn new skills, interact with people from all over the world and exchange experiences while learning how to run a hospitality business.

    Fully booked most of the year with visitors from all over the world, my house is a 10 minute walk from downtown Victoria, ocean views and many other attractions which is why guests love staying here. With tons to offer in the way of festivals, gorgeous walks, whale watching, hiking, biking, swimming, boating etc. Victoria is the 2nd most popular city in the world to visit. If you decide you want to work with us you will understand why.

    The hours will be a minimum of 3 to 5 hours a day and perhaps more if required or less depending on how many rooms need to be cleaned.

    I would prefer people that choose a healthy lifestyle as being up early is important. There is no smoking (of any kind) on the property, for those that wish to smoke there is a bench at the front of the property.

    This truly is a labour of love and the person or persons who decide this a job they are interested in must take huge pride in giving guests a 5 star experience. The rewards come in many ways from accomplishing something that honestly most people cannot do and a sense of sheer joy in putting another's needs before yours and experiencing what that does for other people.

    I love this job and it is hard hard work yet I am thrilled to get up everyday and make other peoples experience here in Victoria fantastic.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience Victoria and surrounding areas as well as interacting with wonderful travellers from around the world and have the fantastic opportunity to learn how to run a vacation/hospitality business. Spring/summer and fall are gorgeous on the island and there are so many events during tourist season to enjoy.

    In the winter things slow down and it is more relaxed and time for personal work.

    By accepting this fantastic workaway opportunity you will receive a modest salary in addition to your accommodation and use of bikes.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    This is a very busy rental and there can be room turnovers daily. Departure is up until 11am and arrival is from 3pm so we have a short window to complete the rooms for the next guests. Full training will be given so no previous experience required but a "can do" attitude and willingness to learn is a must.
    The person who chooses to be here will be assisting with the day to day running of the property which includes the following:

    Guest care:
    *Check ins and check outs
    *Assisting with directions, recommendations and any other questions.
    *Ensuring our guests leave happy

    Cleaning:
    *Room turnovers
    *Laundry
    *General cleaning of common areas
    *General organisation of the property

    Plant care:
    *Watering indoor and outdoor plants
    *Weeding the gardens
    *Harvesting crops and vegetables
    *Arranging beautiful flowers in the common areas and rooms

    Animal care: (4 cats, 2 dogs, 1 fish tank)
    *Feed, play, cuddle the cats
    *Clean the Catio
    *Feed the fish

    Miscellaneous:
    *Baking brownies for our guests
    *General basic maintenance
    *Rubbish and recycling sorting

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The living space for workaways is Vinnie Vango, my 1991 VW vanagon. I have had a number of workaways stay in the van and they love it.
    It is private with full curtains hung in the interior, it boasts a large queen size bed (all bedding provided) drawers for your belongings and of course the unlimited wifi available. You will have full use of the main house bathroom, kitchen, laundry, patio and vegetable gardens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Very conveniently located while still a safe, peaceful residential area, historic and eclectic residential James Bay is a short stroll to Ocean views, Royal BC Museum, Empress Hotel, Beacon Hill Park, downtown Victoria as well as many other points of interest and many amazing pubs/bars and restaurants.
    You can walk to the iconic Fishermans wharf, grab a bite to eat or catch the water taxis to multiple locations and back.
    There is a local market every Saturday morning just up the road, a 24 hour grocery store is a 10 minute walk away and we're only two blocks to the Port Angeles ferry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have hosted people in campervans before and they usually park on the street and use the house for cooking and showering and stay in my van which has power.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    There is a possibility of hosting someone with a dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Varies

Front of our property with its lovely garden that is lush all year round
The hut is nestled in our large backyard and offers many garden goodies and flowers when in season
Inner Harbour Sunset - We are a close and lovely walk to picturesque downtown Victoria

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.7)

Communication: (4.0)







Host ref number: 467763191363