A cozy sustainable community project in the countryside South of Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 338 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    a cozy community project in the countryside South of Berlin. It's a lively place where we experiment with sustainable and self-determined opportunities for living and working, embedded in a nurturing community of five people (age 23 to 31).
    On our grounds we organise non-commercial seminars for community building and alternative living, open the doors once a month for a neighbourhood repair café and are setting up a permaculture forest garden.
    (Most conversations in daily life are in german, it would be better for feeling good here if you speak basic german.)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    project where different cultural elements meet: In our daily life and the management of our projects, we combine elements of non-violent communication, sociocracy, concepts of degrowth and permaculture.
    In general, you can learn a lot about hands-on self-organisation, sustainable living and project management. This ranges from facilitation and communication techniques to ecological construction works and gardening.
    Spiced with a dose of critique of capitalism.

  • Help

    Help

    - renovation works (loam rendering, floor burnishing, constructing furniture, lots of other things)
    - housekeeping (cooking, food conservation, cleaning)
    - gardening (planting, weeding, designing, landscaping)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During summer: camping in our forest garden or sleep on one of our mattresses in the cozy straw barn
    During winter: we'll find some space for a mattress in the house

    We have a shared food storage (mostly organic food, all vegetarian) that our volunteers are free to serve themselves from just as we are.
    Usually, we eat lunch and dinner together. In the morning, we decide who will be preparing the meals of the day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 466294447141