Beautiful place in the wild in Norderåsen, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 639 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    62

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Immediate space for builder/carpentry skilled
    finalizing works on a logbarn and orher.

    Background
    We acquired the farm 2010 and have together with volunteers fixed, developed it in an eco friendly way, creating, upgrading and having lots of fun. Some have returned 1-3 times and some became long stayers. We try to balance origin, interests and genders.

    We learn a lot from our volunteers from around the world and love also travelling ourselves - often to warmer latitudes during winter.

    Activities
    I work mainly with land, forest issues and with the old buildings.
    My wife Madeleine works with antique/second hand shop and renovating old things. As you know there is also a lot of other things to do on a farm as you can see on listing and references. We dont have any children on site.

    We like outdoors - hiking, fishing, boating, hunting, sauna, hottub, bbq or just to enjoy the quietness, watch northern lights etc

    Once a week we go to Ostersund, the main city of the province of Jamtland, for groceries, shopping, events etc

    You reach the city of Ostersund by car, train, bus or air that is all on the Internet.

    Häggenås is our pickup point a 40 min bus ride north of Östersund.
    Please give a comprehensive description so we get a good feeling for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meeting our clean environment, new friends, and things we do,eat,tell or get help arrange own trip to mountain, river, town, event.

    We had a longstayer trailing our vikings in the British isles, for a girl we arranged stay with reindeer herders, one guy came to us in the Philippines for forest plantation another was a surfing pro helping help with indigenous. One skiing the whole length of Norway 2500km with our dog. One has qualified to hunt moose with us. A very ambitious couple came in a van and fixed tasks clockwork, and developed our vegetable garden + new green house and now own a camping site of their own ! Amazing people !!

  • Help

    Help

    We like you to stay minimum 2 weeks.

    Tor outdoor boss
    Help with planting tree seedlings, bush clearing and retrieve windfallen trees. Operate crosscut and splitter for fire wood. Water management issues.
    Carpentry - construction related works:
    - renovate century old windows.
    - lift a barn making a new foundation
    - make an open shed for machinery
    - install metalpipe chimney on fishing cottage
    - make inclined drive-ramp on a barn
    - rectify a leaning shed etc.

    Madeleine indoor boss
    Renovation, furnishing and decorating rooms.
    Keep the place tidy, food preparation ( share recipies ) cleaning, , growing garden patch.
    Assissting with 2nd hand shop.

    Any questions are welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swedish, english, spanish, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have single room, doubble for buddies - couples.
    Linen, towels provided.
    We got plenty of working and warm clothes if needed.
    Own working/hiking boots is recommended.
    Shopping and planning food is done on weekly bases.
    We have limited internet plan ( no fiber ) so
    we avoid streaming / big downloads etc for the common good.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hiking, biking, fishing, swimming, , visit town and places, creating your own art - artifact , relaxing in our after-work room playing music, biliard, movies, story telling, digital detox! ...
    Local buses / go with us to visit town.

    and please follow up any application with a
    definite answer even if your plans change
    Thankyou !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Effective 5 hours, 5 days a week

Baking thinbread in stone oven.
Fishing
Moose hunt
Kayaking the river
Fixing delapidated log cabin
Painting century old windows
Making firewood.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 459233876993