Help our son who suffered a bike accident and help in the house and the garden. St-Ambroise de Kildare, Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome home,
    We are Jean-Louis and Mireille with our 26 years old son, Alexandre. We have been receiving helpx for at least 5 years on our little farm and for a year now, in our home near Joliette.

    We are a retired couple whose life changed dramatically with the accident of our son, 3 years and a few months ago. Alexander was finishing his mechanical engineering studies at McGill University when he was hit by a car and suffered severe head trauma. He is very willing to participate in all the tasks of the house and garden but his lack of coordination and uncontrollable tremors often make him clumsy, so he needs help and supervision. He is an exceptional young man who fights every day to improve his condition. He has all his head but he is a prisoner of his body.

    We would like you to give us a hand in the daily tasks both in the garden and in the house.
    Alexandre circulates in a wheelchair.
    He is a good chess player and also likes to show others how to play.
    He was also a teacher of jiu-jitsu and MMA at McGill University
    He also likes games of '' Magic '' and Othello if you know ...
    He speaks French, English, Spanish and just started to learn German.

    We live in a large house in St-Ambroise de Kildare recently adapted to his needs with heated pool, large garden and several bedrooms for you to stay.

    In summary, we are looking for a young man / a young woman / a couple / friends to help us in the house, in the garden and to help him, accompany him.

    Alexander would like to help us but he cannot always, so your help is essential for us.
    Looking forward to getting in touch for any additional questions or information. We have no dietary restriction and take all meals together, talking, discussing and laughing.

    p.s. We smoke only outdoors


    --


    Bienvenue chez nous,

    Nous sommes Jean-Louis et Mireille avec notre fils de 26 ans Alexandre. Nous accueillions des helpx depuis au moins 5 ans sur notre fermette et depuis un an, nous vivons près de Joliette.

    Nous sommes un couple de retraités dont la vie a changé du tout au tout avec l'accident de notre fils il y a 3 ans et quelques mois. Alexandre finissait ses études en génie mécanique à l’université McGill quand il a été frappé par une voiture et a subi un traumatisme crânien sévère. Il est très volontaire pour participer à toutes les tâches de la maison et du jardin mais son manque de coordination et des tremblements incontrôlables le rendent souvent maladroit, il a donc besoin d'aide et de supervision. C’est un jeune homme exceptionnel qui se bat tous les jours pour améliorer sa condition. Il a toute sa tête mais il est prisonnier de son corps.

    Nous voudrions que vous nous donniez un coup de main dans les tâches quotidiennes tant au jardin que dans la maison.
    Alexandre circule en fauteuil roulant.
    Il est un bon joueur d'échecs et aime aussi montrer aux autres à y jouer.
    Il était aussi enseignant de jiu-jitsu et de MMA à l’université McGill
    Il aime aussi les jeux de ''Magic'' et Othello
    Il parle français, anglais, espagnol et s’est mis à l’allemand

    Nous habitons une grande maison à St Ambroise de Kildare récemment adaptée à ses besoins avec piscine chauffée, grand potager et plusieurs chambres pour vous loger.

    En résumé, nous cherchons un jeune homme/une jeune femme/un couple/des amis pour nous aider dans la maison, dans le jardin et pour l'aider, l'accompagner.
    Alexandre voudrait bien nous aider mais il n’y arrive pas toujours voilà pourquoi votre aide est essentielle pour nous.

    Au plaisir d'entrer en contact pour toute question ou information supplémentaires. Nous n'avons aucune restriction alimentaire et prenons tous les repas ensemble à jaser, discuter et rire.

    p.s. Nous ne fumons qu'à l'extérieur

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being with Alexandre has already changed many lives

    Côtoyer Alexandre a déjà changé plusieurs vies

  • Help

    Help

    We would like you to accompany Alexander in the tasks of everyday life and give us a hand in the daily tasks both in the garden and in the house. Alexandre circulates in a wheelchair but can also walk with a walker under supervision because he often loses his balance (cerebellum sequel therefore lack of balance).
    Alexandre is a good chess player, he also likes to show others how to play.
    He also likes games of '' Magic '' and othello if you know

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    français - anglais

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    privateroom, private bathroom, TV

    chambre privée, salle de bain privée, télé

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    wifi disponible
    2 bicyclettes
    Joliette et le festival de Lanaudière à proximité

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 446446634697

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more