Help a family of five fun-lovers in our large handmade stone house near Malmsbury, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 133 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1025

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Perhaps its time for a winter escapade into the central highlands? In these crazy times, perhaps the freeze to warm sensation will be a thing to cherish. Ohhh we love a good fire!

    We are an adventurous family in a large house with 6 bedrooms, on 27 acres in a sweet valley. We like hosting friends and family for fun times around the dinner table. Community is key and we enjoy our neighbors dropping by.

    There are hordes of kangaroos, wood ducks, vibrant red rosellas, flame robins and musk lorikeets - all sorts of birds on our property. Endangered sugar gliders hide away in our front paddock. We are setting up a permaculture farm and hope to build a tiny house or 2 for our guests.

    Our kids are Tara (12) and twins Jamari and Curtis (9). They are real characters, sure to make your stay a genuine insight into Australian life. For the last 4 years we ran a community nursery in inner western Melbourne with the assistance of 75+ Helpers. Now we have an even better house to host our traveling friends. We are just setting this place up so it is an exciting time. Malmsbury station is just five minutes away so we can easily pick you up from there. Or grab a lift from Karl's office in North Melbourne (Mon - Wed).

    We are always impressed by just how many solid people with adventurous tendencies come to stay.
    Go humanity ;)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We teach you about permaculture design, kombucha production, running a nursery, looking after chooks. We like discussing parenting philosophies, the dangers of neo-liberal economics, some kooky science - it all happens at our place. Solutions are the key to sanity in this mad, mad world.

  • Help

    Help

    We see you as part of the family, so anything we have to do to keep the house running, we hope you will too. We share watering, gardening, farming, cooking, cleaning, kid wrangling, whatever needs to be done. The key instinct we look for is ...... initiative! Guys please don't be shy - please apply! The kids are at an age where they are able to look after themselves, we would love a bit of extra muscle around the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Maori

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your bedroom has a sweet view of the sunrise. The room is a triangle shape and has its own cupboards. The house is made from recycled goods so it is full of character.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Grab a bike and go for a cycle through the neighboring forest, hang with our horse-mad neighbor Steph, see the sights of the central highlands - we are 20 minutes from coolio Castlemaine, a similar distance to Daylesford - both havens for creative cultures. Kyneton and Malmsbury are barely 10 minutes away and have their own farming and historical quirks. We have hammocks overlooking our 'love heart' dam, so there's plenty of nice views to enjoy on the site. Just a 10 minute walk away is a neighboring property with perhaps 50+ kangaroos awaiting your camera. We usually have a mob or two of roos on our land too - sunset and sunrise are just magic.

    One of our challenges is to have five sweet reading spots on the farm. We've got two set up - all we need is to pull some tree stumps into place in a few other select locations. Tasks like these - expect them written on a list on the back of an envelope to do if/ when you can. Its all fun.

    And please, if you are coming all this way down south, please put the Pacific Islands on your agenda! Vanuatu (180+ islands), Papau New Guinea, Solomon Islands are all incredibly beautiful, with many areas not too commercialised. Ahhhh to traveling tips!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A view of our wee valley. We are so lucky and love sharing our little corner of the world with our traveling friends.
To ticking off lists! Great workaway action here with Laura, Puq and Freek working alongside Rayna on some needed windbreaks aroudn the garden.
Our beautiful wall, with afternoon sunlight streaming in.
Kids being kids!
The people who made our house were called the Hartmanns. So they built us a love heart dam too! We're certainly continuing the tradition.
A view from one of our 4 dams to the other. Spectacular sunsets over this valley
The family in action on our 'lap' around Australia.
Tara pointing out our growing succulents in the sunroom. A great place to start the day.
looking into our living room. we guarantee you wont see another house like this.
Karl on the kombucha mission. Once a week, join in!
the view out your bedroom window
Our first Norwegian 'round' woodstack. Dries faster and once we got it up and established (3rd time lucky), it was more stable than the typical woodstack. Thanks Zak and Tsuyoshi for all the help on this!
virtually the view out your window. great sunrises!
Introducing Tara, Jamari and Curtis. At least they are cheerful troublemakers......most of the time!
Friday afternoon wines at the neighboring Zig Zag wines?









Host ref number: 443173984651