Help me with gardening and other projects at my hillside acreage in North Vancouver, Canada



Favourited 146 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Description


    Retired and well travelled teacher needs help keeping up with hillside acreage in North Vancouver. Close to Lynn Headwater Park, Baden Powell Trail, trail running, and World Class Mountain biking outside the door! Easy Bus access, and quick 30 minute service to downtown Vancouver if a taste of urban Vancouver is to your liking. Unique, Serene park-like home with ponds, deer, herons, occasional bears; a rare luxury in a suburban location. Gardening, carpentry, painting, organizing are all usable skills here. Short or long stays could work out. Self cater encouraged, as I am a sporadic cook, or shared meals, expect cleanup after yourself. Access to TV, Internet, laundry and if there's a fit, a chance to visit summer house on private island with kayaks, tennis, ocean swimming at your disposal. Seeking independent, respectful, mature traveller, who has youth, energy and strength for some of the gardening.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a smattering of Spanish, French and German, and have had homestays when my children were younger. Several are still in contact 25 years later. As a teacher, I am comfortable helping, assisting with language progress. I have lived in North Vancouver and Haida Gwaii my whole life and am comfortable assisting with travel plans.

  • Help


    Gardening, housework, computer skills, painting, organizing are all needed skills. Independence an asset.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Bedroom, queen bed, own bathroom shared only when my kids visit occasionally. I will stock the fridge, but am out of practice cooking 3 meals a day, so would be comfortable if guests help themselves and cleanup, and I would likely cook dinners to share, or could precook if I am out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Grouse Mountain, Lynn Headwaters Park, Lynn Canyon Suspension Bridge, world class mountain biking, easy access to bus service, Sea Bus, downtown Vancouver should you wish it. Great hiking, trails, back country, Grouse Grind, Capitano and Lynn Canyon Suspension Bridges and other world class tourist sites. Vancouver Art Gallery, UBC's Museum of Anthropology ( world class), Bill Reid Gallery of Haida Art are all a quick bus ride. Absolutely no smoking. As a retired person, I travel, visit, and am not always home regularly, like a working person so would need someone who is comfortable independently, after a settling in period.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 441375217983