Come help on our farm with Chickens, Fruit Trees and Waterfall near Nimbin, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jay and Claire (a British immigrant couple plus our 2 young kids and enthusiastically unintelligent dog) on a 7 acre farmlet a few kilometres from Nimbin (NSW, Australia), ten minutes walk from Hanging Rock falls and swimming hole.
    We make our living in boring IT day jobs while enjoying (and VERY slowly developing) this little bit of land on the edge of the Big Scrub temperate rainforest.
    We have a productive but (as yet) very rough vegetable plot, some chickens, and young fruit trees that will (one day soon) be an mini-orchard.
    We are currently building a small cabin next to the house, for our daughter to move into.
    We are always behind with the fruit trees, the chickens, the house and the kids. There is a mixture of heavy work and light work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are "city people moved to the country". As such you will benefit from our local knowledge, and we will help you explore the unique cultural history of the Nimbin area, both that dating from "Aquarius" (1973), and the older elements, which are all around us in the valley.
    Nimbin is a famously unique town, 15-20 mins drive along either of 2 backroads.
    Barkers Vale (the valley we're in) is bounded by the Border Ranges national park to the North (), and we are 10 minutes walk (or 1 minute's drive) from the well-known swimming hole at Hanging Rock (). Other nearby spots include the Saturday morning produce market at Blue Knob art gallery (10 mins drive) and The Pinnacle walk (25 mins drive)
    If you stay for a week we almost always manage to make time to show you some local colour, and we're always happy to help with directions and advice. There really is nowhere else in Australia similar to Nimbin's vibe.
    The valley is quiet and feels more remote than it is. You will see large numbers of wallabies around, and if observant, other wildlife including cockatoos, pademelons and pythons (in Summer).

  • Help

    Help

    The most urgent help is needed erecting shed panels (quite fun), clearing fences (hard and not much fun), developing the veggie plot (fun and less hard), weeding, helping out with trenching against termites, general housework, cleaning, playing with the kids, and helping with whatever our latest project is. If you have building skills we will try to put them to use for some of your stay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Italian, basic German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a caravan to yourselves. It has comfortable beds and in winter an electric heater is provided so it's not cold at night.
    We have WiFi (if your aerial is good it reaches the caravan!) which you are free to use - we just ask that you do any downloading or video streaming overnight, as limited peak bandwidth is needed for our work during the day.
    You will share our bathroom in the house - hot showers included (but please be considerate and keep showers quite short - we are on tank water and it can be a while between rains).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We ask volunteers to help from 9am-2pm, 5 days (Mon-Fri but sometimes swapping out Friday for a weekend day so we can work on a project together as we both work thru the week). We're pretty flexible, and the things we need help with vary all the time... We're usually pretty busy and really appreciate it when volunteers see what we need help with and "pitch in".
    We provide a cooked breakfast and dinner, plus a packed lunch.
    We aim to split the work approximately 50/50 between tasks where we work with you, and tasks where you're using your initiative and working unsupervised.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 439124184262