Help on a hobby farm near Exeter, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Peter & Gwen. We have fruit trees, blackberries and a vegetable garden. At present, we are picking in the orchard but there is also general work around the property. A bonus if you can use a chainsaw but not essential.

    We live 2.5k from the township of Exeter which is 26k from Launceston. I am involved with Scouting. Peter does a lot of work with computers. We have an inside cat and an outside dog both very friendly. We also have chickens, geese and Donald the Duck. We don't smoke so would prefer non smokers. WIFI is available. In the evening you may see wallabies and native hens in the property.

    Sorry but we are unable to sign 2nd Visas. Because you may need to use our tools, a good understanding of English is required. Tasmania has 2 airports, unless you want a boring 2 hour bus drive from Hobart, you will need to catch a plane to Launceston then the shuttle bus to the city. Manions Bus service leaves from Brisbane Street, Launceston (opposite the cinemas). Check their website for times. There is no service on Sundays and public holidays. There is also the ferry at Devonport, 3/4 of an hour drive to Exeter.

    If you arrange to come then change your mind, please have the courtesy to let us know! If you have ANY special dietary requirements or foods you don't like PLEASE let me know.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be able to improve their English whilst joining in with family activities. They will possibly learn how to use various farm equipment.

  • Help

    Help

    Work is mainly outside and you need to be pretty fit but there is always work to be done in the vegetable garden which is fairly easy. As work is outside, we only host September to May. Because you may need to use our tools, a good understanding of English is required. We appreciate help with the dishes in the evening.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation is in the house with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In exchange for 25 hours work a week , we provide all meals and accommodation and love our helpers to join us in the evenings. Helpers are welcome to stay 2 - 10 days or longer by mutual arrangement. There are push bikes available and a limited bus service to Launceston and Beauty Point. After work, Peter will often take you sightseeing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week























Host ref number: 432852417779