Help with gardening, animals, guests and more in cozy old fisherman's home and farm situated at the edge of the ocean -Pouch Cove, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This place is a renovated, cozy old fisherman's home and farm situated at the edge of the ocean in Pouch Cove, an outport (village), the most easterly community of North America, near St. John's, Newfoundland. In the summer part of the house serves as guesthouse mainly for hikers along the East Coast Trail. In the winter we offer weekend workshops related to creative arts and healing. The farm includes an old barn filled with goats and chickens, and we participate in a communal neighborhood garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living in a mostly traditional, scenic community that has attracted a number of artists over the last decades. The East Coast Trail offers great wilderness hiking while St. John's, the cultural center, is only 30 minutes away by car. Your host is a trained folklorist who fell in love with Newfoundland when completing her Ph.D. here. She will make sure that you have plenty of cultural contacts and opportunities for hiking and sightseeing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with gardening, animals (goats, chickens, walking the dog), guests (mostly hikers - a great public), and general maintenance of house, barn and garden.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My helpers stay in the guesthouse, providing there is space available, or in the Sauna, a small cabin with great ocean view. Meals are healthy and we will eat together (and with the guests).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport, but it is generally not difficult to get around. We meet people at the airport and regularly visit St. John's. Over the years many helpers from different countries have stayed here and it has been a great experience for us, including the neighborhood garden participants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 362222823235