Come and help me around my Quirky, sustainable Loft Apartment in Tree tops 1 hour from Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me:

    Hi my name is Genevieve and I love people and believe in energy exchange.

    I am a creative person who wears a lot of hats.

    I bought my place in the country 10 years ago - it's a weatherboard divided into two separate living areas with separate kitchens etc. One of them is sometimes rented as weekend accommodation - but it is available for you to Iive in if you want to help me give it some TLC.

    It just needs basic maintenance that a weatherboard demands.

    I ike to cook healthy vegetarian food, but am open to cooking other meals for people. I work a couple of jobs but can provide porridge muesli toast etc (what you like) and I cook some meals and put them in the fridge for lunch. But most nights will cook fresh.

    I have a link and some photos I can send you but unfortunately didn't fit the size to upload on this site.

    I love philosophy and spirituality and have a lot of books on the subject you can read too.

    Introduce yourself and lets get to know each other.

    My Place:

    My home has a warm, rustic, clean, light open, eclectic feel.

    This space is mainly open plan, with a separate bedroom and bathroom. It's self contained and private on the second level of a country home.

    It features an open plan kitchen/dining/lounge and separate bedroom/bathroom (with shower) and is next to the Lerderderg river, on the edge of the Wombat State Forest in central Victoria, Australia.

    It has wifi, flat screen TV and is fully equipped kitchen.

    The bedroom has a queen size bed.

    Imagine yourself looking onto the Australian bush, watching the sun rise over the hill or set in the valley, throwing light on a sea of green gum trees. From every window there are stunning views.

    Heating is an electric nobo heater for bedroom and bathroom/electric heater with timer in the main space and gas heater.

    The house is on the end of a no -through road, yet a 5 minute walk to the local pub and post office/coffee shop and local cafe Martin St. Coffee

    The space is a place to be healed by nature, to relax and to rejuvenate. It's also a fantastic location to visit all the nearby attractions, towns and mineral springs in the area.

    If you're lucky you'll see Kangaroos and Wombats and be laughed at by the Kookaburras (which happens every day to me!)

    Currently I live mainly in the apartment on the first level of the house which is not directly below but next door. Your apartment is private and we share some of the yard and parking spaces.

    In front of the house, a walking track leads to Blackwood Mineral Springs, with water for you to taste from the earth. There are many different bush-walking trails, for you to explore.

    Please note: no smoking inside and no pets.

    It needs constant maintenance as it is wooden and also the garden/trees need pruning and weeding.

    Blackwood is in the middle of nowhere but is the centre of everything:
    (1 hour from Melbourne, 45 Mins from Ballarat, 1 hour to Bendigo, 1 hour to Geelong/Great Ocean Road)


    Note the nearest train station is a 20 minute drive away so a car would be handy.

    Note: I tried to upload photos if you're interested I can send you a link.

    Cheers!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn a lot about the Australian Bush, they will see kangaroos, wombats, native birds, Kookaburras. They will learn about the beauty of Victoria and can learn English. They will see life in a country town. They will also have access to the city of Melbourne which is an hour by train. A car is very much recommended.
    I'm a qualified teacher and writer so can definitely help with learning English.

  • Help

    Help

    My house is weather board, and they are very old and need painting or cladding over.
    There is general upkeep and maintenance jobs for the house and garden. Eg: Painting, washing, cleaning windows, weeding, pruning.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Englis

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Open studio/Loft apartment with Queen size bed. Extra matress could be arranged in open plan living area

    I am a vegetarian, wheat and diary free and make a lot of healthy meals based on Ayruvedic food. However am happy to make you a roast lamb.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is on the edge of a huge State Forest, Wombat State Forest with wildlife and flora and fauna. There are many bush walks and it's rich in history.
    It's also 20 minutes from Daylesford famous for natural mineral springs, restaurants, massage and healing centres and mineral bath.
    It's 10 minutes drive from Trentham with foodie outlets, bookstore, galleries and the Trentham Falls.
    It's all about nature, wineries, local wildlife, local fun and eateries.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 432847644274