Help us with gardening projects and learn about Aussie culture and native wildlife in Tinbeerwah, Australia

  • Favourited 25 times
  • Last activity: 10 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    NOOSA COUNTRY -
    Hi there! Thanks for viewing our listing. We are Steve and Kath, a couple who enjoy the company of young travellers and hearing of their adventures, experiences and homelands. Our own children have left home so we have plenty of room to spare

    We are happy to offer comfortable accommodation, healthy meals and a friendly, family atmosphere, in return for gardening, small maintenance and household duties. You would have the use of a TV, sound system, free wireless internet, kitchen, laundry and your own bathroom and toilet.

    We live in a comfortable, 4 bedroom house on a picturesque, small acreage at the base of Mt Tinbeerwah, which is in the Noosa hinterland on the Sunshine Coast, Qld. (15 minutes from Noosa Heads, a popular beach and surfing location)
    A bus goes past the door and there is a train station at Cooroy. (5 kms away) However your own transport would be more convenient for you.

    There are many fruit trees, a vegetable garden, rainforest, creek and numerous native gardens on the property.
    We have a playful 3.5 year old labrador pup, who loves everyone, especially young helpx guests. 😁
    The abundant wildlife, such as wallabies, kangaroos, native ducks, water hens, turtles and a large number of birds keep us constantly entertained as we look over our large pond from the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy sharing our knowledge of our local area, places to visit and taking them to special, favourite places (when we have time) We're close to many beaches, rivers and lakes where they can take part in water activities. We are able to help them to improve their English (if requested) and teach them about our unique Aussie culture. They will also learn about native plants and animals and garden care and maintenance.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help on our 5 acre property with gardening projects and maintenance and house projects, maintenance and cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide very comfortable, clean, modern and homely accommodation in our own home. You would have your own bathroom and toilet.Around our property are many places to sit and enjoy watching our native animal and birdlife. We look out over a large pond and have a fire pit which is fun to sit and cook by.
    All food provided and we are renowned for our delicious, home cooked meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are nearby to popular walking and mountain bike riding tracks of the Tewantin State Forest and the Tinbeerwah Lookout.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    5 acres to park your van

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week

Host ref number: 831613991585

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)