Unschooling family in Prague, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    240

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an unschooling family with four boys seeking help with refurbishment of our flat and with child care.
    We are a family of six, Martin (44), Zdenka (38) and four boys (11, 8, 5 and 2) living in a nice neighbourhood in Prague. Martin is a sociologist and Zdenka works as a translator and interpreter of English and French. We have chosen a lifestyle of unschooling, that means that our children do not go to school, follow their passions and learn incessantly through living.

    We inherited an old apartment where we live in at the moment, but it needs a lot of refurbishing. We would like to welcome workawayers who could help with various refurbishing works in the house, common housekeeping or with the kids.

    A few years ago, we travelled as workawayers to France and Italy as a family and this year, and as it was a great experience, we decided to host other workawayers. We think that meeting new and interesting people is also very beneficial to our children, everyone has so much to offer. We want the opportunity for our children (as well as for us, the parents) to meet various adults with various passions, interests, and backgrounds.

    At the moment, the eldest boy is interested in: Japanese, installing mods in Minecraft (Mum is useless in this regard, not that she has not tried...)
    I will ask the younger ones what they are looking for and add it later.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about unschooling, Czech culture, what it is like to have a big family, as well as visit the beautiful city of Prague.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for joyful, passionate and positive people who would enrich our lives.
    More down-to-earth, we need help with the refurbishment works, as well as someone to spend time with the children, introducing them to their hobbies, passions, culture, simply making their lives richer and more joyful. General help at home would also be appreciated.
    At the moment, we have very roughly finished one room and are trying to clean out another one, so that heating could be installed.
    We can welcome one workawayer at a time, two would probably be too much, as the apartment is quite small.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Czech, English, French, very basic German and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It depends on the stage of refurbishments, but very modest, probably a mattress in a separate room, bedding provided. But as it is at the moment the only refurbished room, we cannot guarantee privacy during the day, as children use this room for playing (to isolate themselves from the 1-year-old who destroys their lego creations, etc.)
    The bathroom and the toilet has not been refurbished so far, so it definitely is not a very luxurious accommodation.
    Food is included, we do not eat any special diet, we eat meat only occasionally, we are able to provide food for vegetarians, as well as vegans. We try to provide healthy food to our children, let them try other things as well if they ask for them.
    Wifi in the apartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live not far from the Prague Castle and the city centre is about 15 minutes ride on public transport . It is up to your interests - beautiful historical monuments, large expat community, pubs and Czech beer, sports facilities, there is so much to do in Prague.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 432754935992