Help with a variety of projects, be one of the family in a beautiful rural location, near Clonmel, Ireland




Favourited 90 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description



    **** Oct 2019, we are looking for someone to help close up the allottment for winter, weeding winter and spring crops, tidying up the allottment ready for winter. On rainy days help with painting in our kitchen. We are happy to take people for a week or two weeks.****

    *️️*️️*️️*️️ In 2020 we will take people for a maximum of a two week stay at a time only *️️*️️*️️*️️

    Are you looking to stay in a beautiful quiet rural location in Ireland?

    We are located close the scenic Nire Valley, West Waterford. We own a cottage and small holding on an acre of land in the middle of the family farm.

    We are looking for individuals to work alongside us who have reasonable English, who are easy going, friendly and relaxed that will fit in to our little family. We are Mary, Eddy, Molly & Pip. Molly is our 16 year old Jack Russel and her brother Pip is a yorkie cross and they are a very important part of our family. Both Molly & Pip live in our family home so you need to like dogs if you choose to come here.

    We have three out door cats, free range chickens, geese, turkeys and ducks.

    Over half of our chickens are ex battery farm chickens, we call them "The Girtys". They came to us almost completely bald, no feathers from the neck down. With love and TLC, they are all now happy, fluffy chickens and lay wonderful eggs for us every day. Our turkeys are forever turkeys, not just for Christmas. The turkeys love to supervise so don't be surprised if you have a turkey following you around as you work in the allottment, especially if you are using shiny tools. The Indian Runner Ducks (Desmond and The Darcys) are real characters and have to been seen to be believed, they make us laugh every day. Our gander Noel and his lady friend called Demelza are so in love. Gingy and Mudgy & Marley are our cats. They are all stray cats who adopted us as their parents. They love a tickle as you walk past.

    If you do smoke, we would ask that you smoke outside. If you like to cook, we would welcome anything you would like to contribute to the family. We keep the pantry well stocked.

    Please be honest when first contacting us to come and stay about your dietary requirements, such as being vegetarian, especially if you require soya products, gluten free or vegen products. Telling us when you arrive is too late as we do not have soya/gluten free or vegen products in our pantry and the local town/supermarket that stocks such products is 10 miles away.

    A bit about me, Mary. I am an animal lover who likes to run and walk, you are welcome to join me. I love pottering around with my vegetables and flowers that we grow. I love baking bread, cakes, scones and savoury dishes. I like to teach anyone interested how to bake or cook and I welcome dishes you could teach us.

    A bit about Eddy. Eddy loves rugby & football. He will turn his hand to anything. Eddy always has some project or two on the go. Eddy is fantastic at DIY, building & upcycling. He is great at teaching people who wish to learn these kind of skills.

    A bit about Molly. She is 16 now and she is slowing down in her old age. She loves meeting people, will sit on you or your foot any chance she gets. She loves her daily short walks and has issues with the cats. We rehomed Molly when she was 9 months old. She has been loved by us since August 2003.

    Pip is very energetic and goes running twice a week and long walks every day. He will demand tickles and belly rubs on a daily basis. We took Pip in off the road in August 2018. No one claimed him so he is now a permanent and loved member of our family.

    We love meeting people from other countries and cultures. We love sharing our culture with people and learning new things from our Workawayers about their countries, traditions and lives.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People who come from a city/town back ground will find it different living with us in the country lifestyle. They will learn skills such as poultry husbandry, fencing & gardening (vegetables growing and flowers).

  • Help


    If you love animals and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, then why not come and stay with us for a while.

    People will help approx 4 hours a day. Eddy's back is not great so we work in a relaxed chilled out pace with plenty of tea breaks.

    If the weather is very hot we work early morning and late afternoon avoiding the heat of the midday sun between 11am & 3-4pm.

    We need help with weeding, mowing, strimming, building raised beds. We will need help with planting vegetables, looking after them as they grow & harvesting. We also need help with fencing, diy projects, gardening, composting, painting outside on dry days & inside the house on wet days and looking after our animals.

    You would have your own double room in our home, meals and access to WIFI in exchange for your help.

    You do not need to have experience or certain skills, just enthusiasm and a willingness to turn your hand to anything.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We speak English only. We are not expecting people who are fluent in English but it would be nice if you had some English.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own double room in the family home, a newly refurbished 200 year old cottage. You will be treated as part of the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    People can go walking locally in the woods and on the country roads. People can walk on the local mountains, the Comeraghs and the Knockmealdowns. Waterford Greenway is just over 20 miles from our house. Clonea Strand and Ardmore are 25 miles away. The Rock of Cashel is 25 miles away. Cahir Castle is 15 miles away.


    - this bus goes to clonmel from Dublin Airport or Dublin city. Get off the Showgrounds opposite the Army Barracks.

    - to get to Clonmel from Dublin Airport you need to get the Dublin to Cork bus. Get off in Cahir and get on the Limerick to Waterford bus and get off at Clonmel Train Station. 

    If your Travelling from any other town or city, Bus Eireann is the company that will get you to Clonmel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

August 2019 Giovanni stayed with us. He was a huge help to us creating out raised flower beds. We had some great local runs and a nights fishing for Mackerel in Helvic.
July 2019, Arthur helping us to sow winter veg and harvest vegetables for storing....
Our gang who love tickles, cuddles and are very good at supervising...
June 2019, Janina helping with harvesting and weeding with help from our fur babies.
2019 Workaway...our third year being Hosts and it's once again been fantastic and is only May submitting this photo. Meeting wonderful people and loving the Workaway experience.
2018 Workaway....our second year being Hosts. Another great year meeting wonderful people who we shared our home with.
2017 Workaway....our first year and what a wonderful year we had with everyone. It was the beginning of our Host journey and all these amazing people we met have enriched our lives.
As you can see its work in progress here. We are along way from finishing our intended projects but in time we will get there.
So this is us, Mary & Eddy. We have been together since July 1993. We look forward to meeting you.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 596512799276