Looking a vibrant, energetic person to join our family in Canberra



Favourited 93 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We'd love to find someone energetic and friendly to join our family. I come from an Italian background and would love to have my children grow up with knowledge of Italian culture and language but we do also welcome people of diverse backgrounds.

    We also need someone with an understanding Coeliac Disease as 8 year old Lola is a Coeliac. You don't have to follow a Gluten Free Diet but must be careful about cross contamination when preparing foods containing gluten. George is 5 and in Kindy.

    We live just outside of Canberra. I work in Canberra and it is easily accessible and only about 15 minutes away. We are centrally located as Sydney is just 3 hours away, the snow is just over an hour and the beach about 90 minutes away.

    We have a dog and two cats so would prefer someone who likes animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Some help entertaining the children

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Sunny room overlooking the garden

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport nearby.

    Some things to see and do in Canberra:
    Black Mountain Tower (Telstra Tower), Black Mountain Drive, Acton (5 km from the city centre) This functional communications tower rises 195 m above the summit of Black Mountain, providing 360 degree views of Canberra and the countryside around it from a viewing platform 60m up the tower. Well worth a visit, day or night, for the fantastic views - look for the cork tree plantation and Parliament House. It has a revolving restaurant and telecommunications history display. Above the restaurant there is a two level viewing platform: the bottom level is indoor and has a souvenir shop and refreshments; the upper level is an open air area. Its a nice view, but the mountain is already already 260m above the lake, and the viewing platform is only another 60m above the mountain.

    National Arboretum Canberra, Forest Drive, off Tuggeranong Parkway (6 km from the city centre, take Parkes Way, Tuggeranong Parkway and Arboretum exit), Canberra's new arboretum, built for its centenary in 2013, contains trees and shrubs from all over the world. It's still growing and being added to but is well worth a visit, even if for the views from the lookouts (lookout carparks are free of charge).

    Australian National Botanic Gardens, Clunies Ross Street, Acton (5km from the city centre, take Parkes Way and take the Clunies Ross Street exit with directions to Black Mountain), Australia's national botanic garden, containing a collection of living native plants from all around Australia. Contains gardens, lawns to picnic on and walks among the native plants and trees.

    Other Lookouts - Canberra is surrounded by hills and there are plenty of other great vantage points to view the city. Many of these you can also drive to the top. The best vantage points are:

    Mount Ainslie (off Fairbairn Avenue, Campbell/Forrest) - vehicular access available. This is the most classic Canberra view looking in a straight line over the War Memorial, the lake and Old and New Parliament House in the background.
    Red Hill (off Melbourne Avenue, Deakin/Forrest)
    Mount Majura (access via Antill St in Watson, also service road off Majura Road)
    Mount Taylor (access via Waldock St, Chifley)
    Mount Pleasant (via General Bridges Drive, Duntroon)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 431578519158