updated  

Help us on our self sufficient organic farm in the beautiful south of Palena, Patagonia, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 428 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am a Single mom of ten children in the age of 5-22 of which seven are still living with me in Chile. We moved to Palena in March 2020 to start all over again there. Our goal is to be self sufficient on our organic farm while also offering touristic activities, such as fishing, trekking, horse riding and many more, as well as selling our home made product (cheese, sausages, wine, ham etc.). 
We started at cero, meaning our projects are grubbing up land in order to be able to grow crops, building fences as well as buildings, growing a garden, and much more.
we have a big vegetable garden, harvest fruits and crops and own many animals, such as milk goats, pigs, horses, cows, poultry (chicken, ducks, geese…), cows, cats, dogs, bunnies, sheep. 
As far as possible we produce our own food (bread, jam, ham, cheese, butter, wine, apple cider, sausages etc). 
We offer you a small free seperate accommodation, or room in our house, depending on the number of persons also a tent. 
Traits we are looking for in you are: child friendliness, craftmanship, lots of motivation and willingness to help and learn. Since we try to life self sufficient we need help with gardening, with construction work, fences, cleaning the land, making fire wood and many many more, as well as helping entertain the children or doing some household chores.
    in your free time there are many posibilities to explore the surrounding area, trying some horse back ridig, fishing trekking or just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful nature.
    Be sure to experience a great variety of tasks and impressions, also learn a lot about living self sustaining and running a big family without much money! being with us means back to basics!
    So far all helpers and volunteers we hosted enjoyed staying at our little paradise and had a great time with our family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are germans but partly live the chilean way of life. since we produce jam, sausage, wine, bacon, cheese etc according to the season helpers can learn a lot about self sufficient lifestyle. Also how to run a big family without much money...
    they will experience how to live a sustainable life in the patagonian countryside respecting nature and wild life!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Female volunteers usually prefer helping with the children help with the household or garden or animals or farmwork is also very welcome!
    Male helpers can do the same like female or preferable do more physical work on the farm, depending on the weather and season. this can be: making firewood, construcion work, doing all kinds of maintenance work on fences, buildings, machines etc, cleaning the pastures, helping with the animals, harvesting....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    own little cabin/ room with possibility to cook etc or tent

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers should like simple life close to nature, back to basics. We offer varied work, life within our family on an organic farm in one of the world`s most beautiful environment. We would prefer workers with some experience in at least one of the following labours: childcare, teaching, manual labour, carpenters, mechanics etc.. Minimum Age 20, minimum stay 2 weeks, absolutly prefering Long term helpers to 2 weeks helpers!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you pay we could arrange internet access

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week

Host ref number: 422185117755

Feedback (6)



Feedback







Come learn more about the life in the Andes mountains and about our traditions in Curacautin, Chile
Help to redecorate and paint our shelter in Rio negro, Chile