Spend time with horses in a beautiful country environment near Brisbane, Queensland, Australia



Favourited 133 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    *** UPDATE. Drought is over and we need helpers with large scale mowing (zero turn, whipper snipper, outdoor work and house cleaning). Fluent English essential. We are a family of three independent teen daughters, ten (or so) horses, three dogs and a cat. We have veggie gardens and a farm to take care of which keeps us mostly outdoors and very busy. Both of us work full time away from the farm so there is free time during the day - most days. Our local area is beautiful and our previous travellers have loved the area. It is suited to people who enjoy a quiet country lifestyle (with a noisy, busy family :) We are experienced hosts and can host one female, or possibly a couple/two friends travelling together and we have some flexibility for longer term stays to stay two weeks on/travel for two weeks/return. Helpers must be okay in their own company as two of four weeks they will be here by themselves from 7am to 3:30pm. Vehicle may be available for local travel during this time. We host continually and although we may not have availability, please check in with us as plans for travellers sometimes change and vacancies come up last minute. So talk with us :).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are experienced hosts and travellers can learn to grow veggies, care for horses and some riding may be possible only under supervision when an adult is home to supervise). We live in a beautiful, friendly country area for travellers to experience the real life in Australia, as opposed to a resort or holiday home. . Our property suits people that want to be out of the city in nature. We do lots of groundwork and training with horses, including barefoot hoof trimming and can teach these skills. It is great if people have basic horse handling skills, like leading, cleaning feet or a sensible approach and common sense attitude.

  • Help


    Important: As anyone who has been around horses will know that they are lots of work and the ratio of work to fun is about 3:1. We work with our horses on the ground and under saddle which you are able to learn and help us with. Assistance is needed to feed and care for horses and other pets. Other chores include: collect children from bus stop, water veggie gardens, general household duties, assist with preparing meals, washing, ironing and cleaning. Our travellers need to know how to do basic household tasks and normal skills adults possess. We have limited time to instruct and watch over every task, However, we will happily show you tasks that are new to you. We would love to teach our girls to speak Italian.

    Travellers need to be independent and able to be on their own during the day at times. Independent life skills are important - helpers must have lived out of home before. Must hold a drivers license to drive in Australia and at least two years driving experience. English language skills must be sufficient to stay safe and follow instructions on a farm with animals and other safety hazards. It is important to us that our Helpers respect the goodwill of Workaway as a host program to learn other cultures. As experienced hosts we think it is important to set out clear expectations - helpers who are solely using Workaway to save money, or a room-dwellers and anti-social would be better contacting paid accommodation providers. You will be living in a home with children and must behave respectfully.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - fluently. Italian - a little bit.

  • Accommodation


    Beautiful, modern home with views and large swimming pool. Guest room has queen size bed. We eat healthy, home cooked meals, multicultural meals, mostly vegetarian with some chicken and meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no transport nearby so travellers must have a drivers license. A vehicle (manual) can possibly be supplied for stays of 2 weeks plus - but some conditions apply from our insurance company and other than short drives in the local area we do not supply fuel. There are beautiful lakes and bushwalks nearby and there are often kangaroos and other wildlife on our property. The local town, Boonah, is a lovely country town only five minutes away. It has a large supermarket and most other services people need. On days off it is possible to come with me to work in the city, to catch a train elsewhere for short trips or day trips. We also have kayaks and stand up paddleboards to use on the nearby lake. Past travellers have done 3 day trips to Fraser Island etc. using our home as a base. We expect respectful guests to be included as part of the family and cannot host smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 743956231645