Help needed on our small family farm near Margaret River, Western Australia




Favourited 179 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a small family of 3, Phil, Mel and Louis, dedicated into sustainable farming and living practices.

    At the moment, we are restoring an old vintage caravan and need help either with this project or to look after our 3yo boy. We also need a fair bit of help in the garden since we are self-sufficient from our vegetable and herb garden. We are seeking people with a genuine interest in simple living and for who the following resonates: "Be the change you want to see in the world.".

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will live on our small farm, surrounding by animals and a beautiful nature.
    You will learn lots about renovation, sustainable living and natural farming. If you too wish to live a more sustainable life and learn about resilience in a relaxed environment, you might find yourself at the right place with us.

  • Help


    We are looking for like-minded helpers for a mobile bio/eco food farming project, that want to know more about sustainable agriculture or bring some experience. Now and depending on your skills or interest, the position either involves building and painting jobs for the caravan renovation or babysitting, cleaning and help with cooking. Some gardening and picking will also be needed since we have a decent veggie patch.

    Help is usually about 4 hours a day. We prefer to have the workawayers help us in the morning before it gets too hot (which means starting work around 8:00am), then we can all get on with other things in the afternoon after a nice lunch together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation


    You will live with us in the house, having your own bedroom with queen size bed and lots of books available about farming, cooking and healthy lifestyle. You will be part of our family in regards of sharing lunch after the mornings duties which also involves sharing some of the daily chores (i.e. help with cooking, washing dishes, cleaning).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a amazing and peaceful place, very close to Hamelin Bay and the impressive Boranup Karri Forest, in the middle of picturesque vineyards and not far away from the Blackwood River. Of course, it's handy to have your own vehicle to explore and enjoy the surroundings of the Margaret River region on your free time. Plenty of activities are waiting for you like fishing, surfing, food, wine and beer tastings, kayaking, walking or biking on nature trails, cultural driving escapes, whale watching, swimming and snorkelling...

    One final note: we enjoy hosting reliable and motivated people. Unfortunately, we've had several Workawayers say they're coming but then not arrive. Please be aware that if we arrange for you to come, our family will have made plans for your stay. So if you don't come, everyone misses an opportunity! Thanks for your understanding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 4 hours a day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 418283257718