updated  

Temporary help for busy, happy family in historical English country house in Hertfordshire, UK

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 681 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We are a family living in a beautiful old house (first built in the 1450's) about 50 minutes outside London where the father of one of the English kings was born. We have lots of people staying and we're always super busy with guests, indoor and outdoor work. We have had people from all over the world come and stay to lend a hand. The place is semi rural - in one of the oldest villages in the country - but you can get into London in about 45/50 minutes - bus plus one train. It's also really handy for Stanstead airport. Our children are aged 9-14, we have a border collie puppy, and the garden and field about five acres. We host concerts from time to time and love all forms of music, art and writing. We have hosted people from all over the world and many of our guests come back and stay with us! This is basically a perfect spot to retreat from London while at the same time being able to go in and out easily if you want to... It's also a great opportunity to stay in a truly historic (but friendly!) old English house.
    We love folks who are good with children. We love folks who can cook for children. We love folks who don't mind mucking in with this and that and are up for light work round the house.
    The children are at school, of course, so you have time to yourself in the day but we always need help dropping them off and picking them up.
    This is a great spot for someone who just wants to spend time in an old English house and village. Most of our guests tend to socialise in London at the weekends and then retreat here for the weekdays. But some go to the village pub and hang out there with the locals.

    Right now, we are looking for short term Au Pair-style help. So, someone who is good with the following tasks:

    1. School lifts - driving the children
    2. General help cooking
    3. Light domestic help in the house

    So if any of these fit your skills we might have a great fit!

    IMPORTANT: We're sorry but we only take people with driving licenses because you will need to be able to get around and help driving the children.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a unique opportunity to live in the house where Edmund Tudor was born - and hence where the English Royal Tudor dynasty was born. He was the father of King Henry VII.

  • Au pair

    Au Pair Help

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks mentioned above are the priorities at the moment.

    There are four children so there's lots of chaos and people losing their shoes and so on!

    Also: you must be able to drive!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room.
    A very cute single attic garret overlooking an ancient church.

    All your food and water and bills will be taken care of - you can eat anything you can find here! There are excellent hot showers. It is a very unique and beautiful house - with library, music room, Tudor panelled dining room...

    Huge garden, football, tennis court. 5 acres.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    London is close - we all go and come in the mornings and evenings. There is a bus to the railway station (about 15 minuted trip) which leaves from the end of the field.
    The village has an excellent pub and the walking here is beautiful.
    The nearest town is a place called Bishop's Stortford - which is a classical English market town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 343942443283

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)










Eco building project, planting native trees and creating a wild garden in ancient woodland near Tarbert, Scotland, UK
Learn about off-grid living near Langport, England