Help around our peaceful household and learn tango dancing in Antanhol, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/04/2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I used to be the CEO of the biggest marketing training company for experts/consultants/coaches in Europe, and then I quit to focus on my passion: tango. I wrote two books about tango, one became the most translated tango book in the world and the other an Amazon bestseller.
    My wife is a lawyer, who turned flight attentand.
    My son is just awesome.
    I love reading, exercising, juggling, tango, and helping people experience moments of meaning.
    My wife loves simplicity, minimalism, and safety.
    My son loves playing, exploring, and running behind our two dogs.

    I am vegan, and my wife is vegetarian. We love healthy nutrition.

    We are a bit introverts, and we love meaningful conversations.
    We love being around people who love nature and a simple life, and we don't relate so much with crazy-life-party-going people. In fact, you can watch Ed Sheeran's Beautiful People video on YouTube, and you will get an idea about us :-p

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the center of Portugal, in Antanhol, close to Coimbra, the country's vibrant student city. I am half Greek, half German, and my wife is Portuguese who grew up in France. In other words, we are a European-salad kind of family. We can take you to the train station closeby to explore the south and north of Portugal, or you can simply choose to lay back under the sun and take advantage of the swimming pool.
    If you are into personal development, marketing, finding your life's purpose, getting a meaningful job, or creating your own company, we'll have plenty to chat about on our free time. I have a library with lots of books on those topics as well (English).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for Workawayers that can help us in at least one of the three different areas:

    Our son
    We want a fun, loving person to spend time with our 6 y.o. son, play, and help him develop (creative play). We will provide everything our son needs to help his development. Extra points if you can sing, play an instrument, or have an education related degree. These are interesting skills, but not obligatory. What we want is a person that can spark our son's creativity and curiosity. He likes to spend time outside (we have a garden for him to play around, collect fruits, etc) and inside (drawing, reading books, playing with legos).

    Our house
    We want someone that can help us around the house (delicious vegan and vegetarian cooking, some light cleaning, dishes to the washing machine and back).

    Our passion
    Extra points if you dance tango (or ballet and you want to learn tango) and are willing to practice.
    Extra points if you are a native French speaker who can help me proofread some texts I wrote about tango in French.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has a 17mx7m swimming pool, and a big garden with all kinds of trees (pommegrenades' period just started!!!). Your room has its own fully equipped bathroom and double bed. You'll have access to kitchen, living rooms, fridge, and fiber Wi-Fi connection. We are located right next to the forest and a cute little river (not deep enough to swim though, but that's what the swimming pool is for).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus station two minutes away from the house
    Nature, birds, and sun
    Train station to go to Portugal's other two cities (Porto and Lisbon) and everything in between
    Free access to all our trees for on the spot snacking (apples, pears, pommegrenades, avocados, oranges, etc. based on time of the year of course)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fiber wifi, to enjoy while working on the balcony or next to the swimming pool, looking at the forest.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    As long as your caravan is not too low (so it passes the ramp), there is plenty of space and free water

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have 2 dogs and 3 cats living with us, outside of the house. Company is always good, but we will not cover the expenses for the food of the pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 415929417463